Wednesday, July 04, 2018

Alaskan Romantic Suspense Novel a Better-Than-Expected Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

A decade ago, Bailey Craig left tiny Yancey, Alaska, behind forever.  With a hard-earned reputation for being rebellious and easy, she had to flee in order to start over.  Now known as religious and serious, the 28-year-old college professor still has no intention of ever returning.  It's only when her beloved aunt dies in a plane crash that Bailey even considers it. As she reluctantly boards a plane bound for The Last Frontier, she vows to stay not one second longer than is absolutely necessary. 

It's been over ten years since Bailey broke Cole McKenna's heart, but he's never forgotten her.  When fate (divine intervention?) brings her back into his life, he's more than a little intrigued.  It's obvious Bailey is not the girl he used to know.  And the woman she appears to have become?  More than a little enticing.  Does Cole dare take the risk of trying to get to know the new Bailey?  Or is that just a sure-fire way to get his heart stomped all over once again?  

When Bailey and Cole are enlisted to help investigate the suspicious deaths of two deep-sea divers, their battered hearts will get a second chance to find healing in the last place they expected to find it ...

Romantic suspense really is not my thing, but in looking for a book set in Alaska for the Literary Escapes Challenge, I came across Submerged by Christian fiction author Dani Pettrey.  With an intriguing premise and lots of positive reviews on Amazon, the novel seemed worth a peek.  And you know what?  It turned out to be a better read than I expected.  Pettrey's prose doesn't exactly sparkle, but it's capable enough.  Her characters are likable, even though there are too many to keep track of and none of them are all that developed or original.  The mystery at the novel's core isn't overly exciting, but it kept me reading.  Yes, the plot got clumsy and far-fetched, but all in all, Submerged is not a bad read.  I especially appreciate its clean content as well as its uplifting messages about forgiveness, faith, and a person's ability to change despite past troubles.  While I probably won't continue with this series, I did end up enjoying Submerged overall.  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Submerged from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

2 comments:

  1. I'm not sure I could get past the "clumsy and far-fetched" plot. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I’m glad it pleasantly surprised you and now you can mark Alaska off your list!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin