Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Abduction Novel Quietly Suspenseful, Unsettling

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Keeping track of her "dreamy" daughter has always been something of a challenge for Beth Wakeford.  Now that she's newly divorced, she's even more worried that something will happen to Carmel, an 8-year-old who's easily distracted.  When her nightmare comes true during a trip to an outdoor festival, Beth is frantic with worry.  Has Carmel just wandered off in a daze?  Or has something sinister happened to the capricious child?  As hours, then days and months, go by without a sighting of the little girl, the police assume the worst.  Undeterred, Beth vows to find her missing child, in whose death she refuses to believe.  

When Carmel is first led away from the fairgrounds, she's delighted at the prospect of a novel adventure.  Soon, though, she realizes that things are not what they seem and that the likelihood of her being returned to her mother is slim to none.  As Carmel slowly comes to grips with her new reality, she longs desperately for her mum.  But as the years pass, memories fade, and some children forget who they really are ...

The Girl in the Red Coat, a debut novel by Welsh author Kate Hamer, tells a quietly unsettling story about every parent's worst nightmare coming to pass.  It's a compelling tale that kept me riveted throughout.  Although the reader knows what's happening (sort of) to Carmel from the get-go, the plot remains suspenseful because of its over-arching question:  Will Beth and Carmel ever be reunited?  As mother and daughter are both sympathetic narrators, the reader can't help but root for them ... but will they get the happily ever after they both desire?  Nothing is for certain in this disquieting novel.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of The Disappearance of James by Anne Ursu)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a few F-bombs, plus milder expletives), mild sexual content, violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

9 comments:

  1. I couldn't not have read this when my daughter was younger, but now that she is almost 18 it would be a much easier read!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right? It's absolutely every parent's worst nightmare. I've literally had nightmares about losing each one of my kids. Such a scary feeling -- even if it's just felt in a dream!

      Delete
  2. Sounds like a very suspenseful read. I’m going to have to look it up.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is suspenseful. Not a thriller-y way, but in a quieter way, if that makes any sense.

      Delete
  3. This sounds like a book that'll keep you up at night. I like books like that! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha ha. It's definitely unsettling, but not as graphically disturbing as a lot of mystery/thrillers.

      Delete
  4. I remember seeing this one and thinking it sounded like one I should read. I'm glad you took the plunge and now it goes on my list again. I know my library will have it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a pretty fast read, so I would definitely give it a go. Again, it's not a thriller-y type book, but it is suspenseful.

      Delete
  5. Sounds interesting. I'm not sure I'd like it, though. I'm glad you did.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin