Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


9 / 30 books. 30% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (6)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


14 / 51 states. 27% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


37 / 50 books. 74% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 52 books. 56% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 40 books. 55% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 26.2 miles. 84% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


18 / 100 books. 18% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 104 books. 41% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 165 books. 24% done!
Saturday, February 03, 2018

Little House in the Big Woods a Happy, Nostalgic Re-Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Like legions of girls, I became a rabid Little House on the Prairie fan as a child.  I devoured the books, inhaled the television series, and spent hours imagining what it would be like to live Laura's seemingly-charmed life.  Although I've been meaning to revisit the books as an adult, it's taken me a long time to do it.  I finally picked up Little House in the Big Woods a few months ago and enjoyed the nostalgic re-read.

If you've been living under a rock and you don't already know, Little House in the Big Woods is the first book in Laura Ingalls Wilder's autobiographical series about growing up in Wisconsin during the late 1800s.  Full of fascinating details about homesteading and life on the prairie, the novel doesn't have much of a plot.  It's very episodic, highlighting the Ingalls' experiences with inclement weather, wildlife, farming, family, and eking out a life in the wilds of Middle America.  Overall, it paints a fairly cozy, romantic picture of life in that place and period.  

While I didn't find Little House in the Big Woods quite as engrossing as I did as a child, I still enjoyed it.  There's a reason it's a classic, a reason it's stood the test of time, and that's because it's really very charming.  I still love the story (plot-less, though it may be) and am excited to continue re-reading the series.

(Readalikes:  other books in the series, including Little House on the Prairie; Farmer Boy; On the Banks of Plum Creek; By the Shores of Silver Lake; The Long Winter; Little Town on the Prairie; These Happy Golden Years; and The First Four Years)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for some scary images

To the FTC, with love:  This is a selection from my personal library.

4 comments:

  1. I've thought about rereading these books. Like you, I loved them as a young girl. And that was before the TV show. Ha! I probably won't take them on again though. Too many other books that appeal more. Enjoy the rest!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I would be afraid to re-read these books since I absolutely LOVED them as a child. What if they didn't hold up?

    ReplyDelete
  3. I like the later books in the series best...from Little House on the Prairie on up to Happy Golden Years. They're my favorites. (Although I tend to skip over Farmer Boy and By the Shores of Silver Lake.)

    ReplyDelete
  4. My mom wanted me to love these books and pushed them on me as a kid. Sadly I could never get into them. She read them over and over. Wish I could have loved them for her but I just never could.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive