Saturday, February 03, 2018

Salty Fahrenheit 451 Unexpected and Entertaining

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Books about books never fail to get my attention.  Some are better than others, of course, but the subject of books/reading always appeals.  Naturally, then, I had to check out Dear Fahrenheit 451 by librarian Annie Spence.  The subtitle explains that the volume contains "A Librarian's Love Letters and Break-Up Notes to the Books in her Life."  It doesn't mention that these notes come with a big ole side of sass and snark.  This makes them funny and entertaining, but a lot saltier than I expected.  Spence loves an F-bomb, sprinkling them and other profanity very liberally in her letters.  For me, this takes away from the book and makes me a whole lot less likely to recommend it to friends.  Fahrenheit 451 is still an enjoyable ode to books, libraries, and reading—it's just not quite what I expected.

It's easy to connect with a fellow reader like Spence.  Many of her observations ring true to me, and I love all the terms she coins—"read rage" and "Bookdigger" being my favorite.  I also adore the lists at the back of the book.  In fact, I wish the whole book consisted of lists instead of letters.  Really, how can you resist lists titled "Excuses to Tell Your Friends So You Can Stay Home and Read" and "Books for the Lazy, the Lively, the Long-Winded, and the Lethargic."  Did I mention all the reading recommendations Spence offers up?  Although I don't agree with all her opinions, I did add a bunch of her recommended titles to my TBR pile mountain mountain chain.  So, even though I would have preferred a less salty version of this book, overall I enjoyed it.  If you like cheeky observations about books, you and Dear Fahrenheit 451 are sure to make a love connection.  My relationship with it is lukewarm, but that doesn't mean I'm going to be writing it a break-up letter anytime soon. 

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Book Lust and More Book Lust, both by Nancy Pearl)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language and references to sex and illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Fahrenheit 451 from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

4 comments:

  1. I have heard good things about this one. And, yes, I can see how the salty language would be a bit annoying. I don't mind it so much in certain situations, but it's not something I like in 'regular' life.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I want to read this. I’m a bit foul mouthed myself so I don’t think the language will bug me.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I just want to know if she love lettered or broke up with Fahrenheit 451?

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin