Friday, February 23, 2018

Bookish Cozy Warm and Fun

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Despite her obsession with British mystery novels, 46-year-old Karen Nash has never actually crossed the pond.  That's why the Minnesota librarian is so thrilled about her upcoming trip to London.  Six months in the making, the vacation will be the fulfillment of all her bluestocking dreams.  Karen's boyfriend ("the love of my midlife" [9]), a 50-year-old plumber named Dave, doesn't share her enthusiasm, but after a week in a quaint British B&B, she's pretty sure he'll come around.  

When Dave calls at the last minute to cancel not just their trip but also their entire relationship, Karen is devastated.  Deciding that the best revenge will be to have a good time in London without him, she scrapes up enough cash to purchase her own ticket.  When she spies Dave at the airport with a pretty, young blonde on his arm, she becomes even more infuriated.  She feels mad enough to kill the jerk, but when she spills her drunken guts to a stranger in a pub, he appears to take her pronouncement seriously.  Has Karen just sicced an assassin on her ex-boyfriend and his new fling?  

While Karen tries to warn Dave, a wealthy flower breeder is murdered at the B&B where she's staying.  On the verge of creating a blue rose, Howard Worth had plenty of enemies.  Who actually did the dirty deed?  With a nose for sleuthing, Karen—the self-proclaimed "master of the mystery section" (5)—is determined to find his killer.  In the process, she'll soak in British culture, find drool-worthy books to add to her collection, and fall in love with both England and a kindly bibliophile who may also be a murderer.

Killer Librarian, a debut novel by Mary Lou Kirwin (a pen name of Mary Logue) and the first in a series, is a fun bookish cozy.  Anyone who loves mystery novels will enjoy hanging out with Karen, who throws out reading recommendations right and left.  The situation in which she finds herself gets sillier as the story progresses and the mystery she's trying to solve really isn't that mysterious.  There is one twist in the tale that caught me completely off-guard, mostly because it seemed completely unnecessary.  Other than that, Killer Librarian is a fairly typical cozy—it's warm, it's fun, it's far-fetched, it's enjoyable.  The bookish theme is my favorite part of this series; because of that, I'll keep reading it.  

(Readalikes:  Death Overdue by Mary Lou Kirwin)  

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs) and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Killer Librarian from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

11 comments:

  1. I like the concept of this... a librarian with book recommendations and a mystery. Too bad it doesn't quite come through.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's an easy, light read that was entertaining but not exceptional, you know?

      Delete
  2. You can’t go wrong with book themed books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Seriously! Anything to do with books and I'm in.

      Delete
  3. I love a character who gives book recommendations! This sounds like a light and fun read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Mostly she mentions classic British mysteries/authors, but since I'm not really up on the genre, I got a lot of good recommendations :)

      Delete
  4. I like the idea of book recommendations or mentions. Long ago, I read Carolyn Hart's Annie Darling books for the same reason. Plus I had never heard of mystery bookstore before. Hart said that it was her way of giving hat tips to author friends. :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Interesting! I always love book recommendations, no matter what the source.

      Delete
  5. No a big fan of those cozy mystery novels, but to be honest I only read one. So...I can't really tell, can I? haha. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha ha. I'm not a huge fan of them either, but I've been reading so many dark, gory, violent mystery/thrillers lately that I've been craving lighter mysteries that don't give me nightmares. Cozies usually fit the bill.

      Delete
  6. Sounds fun. But, just what I need more book recommendations, lol.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin