Monday, April 24, 2017

My Go-To Author For Light, Fluffy YA Romance Comes Through Again

(Image from Barnes & Noble
http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlAs an aspiring songwriter, Lily Abbott can't stop writing down potential lyrics in the notebook she carries with her everywhere.  When she zones out one too many times in class, her chemistry teacher confiscates the book, leaving Lily hopelessly bored.  Jotting down her favorite lyrics from the indie band she loves on her desk helps pass the time.  Next class period, Lily is shocked to find that someone has continued penning the song on her desk.  Soon, she and her anonymous correspondent are exchanging band recommendations, favorite songs, and increasingly flirty banter.  It's not long before they're sharing deeper, more meaningful thoughts.  Before Lily knows it, she finds herself falling—hard—for the mystery boy who makes her smile, laugh, and think.
Part of Lily is dying to know the identity of her secret pen pal; the other part is scared of ruining a fun romance with a reality check.  Who is her furtive Romeo?  Will she still like him when she knows?  Will he still like her?  How will a friendship-with-potential that works so well on paper play out in real life?  Lily is about to find out ...

http://whitneyawards.com/I read a lot of dark, heavy books, so it's nice to take a break sometimes and enjoy a little fluff.  Kasie West is my go-to author for fun, light-hearted novels.  I can always count on her for quick, clean rom-coms that are cute, engaging, and humorous.  Yes, they're silly high school romances.  Yes, they're predictable.  But who cares?  They're enjoyable.  P.S. I Like You is no exception.  If you need to insert a little happy into your reading life, you really can't go wrong with a Kasie West novel.

(Readalikes: Other books by Kasie West, including The Distance Between Us; On the Fence; and The Fill-In Boyfriend)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for very mild innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-copy of P.S. I Like You from the Whitney Awards Committee as part of my involvement with the Whitney Academy's judging panel.

5 comments:

  1. Totally agree - Kasie West is so great at light, fluffy happy books. I enjoyed this one too :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. She really is. This one was fun, although it wasn't my favorite of hers.

      Delete
  2. Everyone seems to love Kasie West's books. I've only read one and I liked it but didn't think it was anything new or unique. Not that that's what she's going for but still. I need to try some of her others. Give her another shot.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They're definitely not the best or most unique romances I've ever read, but I like the fact that they're cute, easy reads that are just fluffy and fun. I can count on her to give me a clean book that I can hand to my daughter -- or my mother -- without being embarrassed :)

      Delete
  3. Yes!! Loved all of West books so far. Sweet , fluffy and enjoyable

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin