Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


59 / 165 books. 36% done!
Friday, July 12, 2013

The Perfect Summer Read? Kinda ...

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Caymen Meyers is all about the dolls.  Okay, she's not.  Not at all.  In fact, the porcelain playthings creep her out with their vacant eyes and permanent smiles.  Still, it's up to the 17-year-old to push the merchandise at her mother's doll shop—it's the only way to keep the bill collectors at bay.  Even though her mom urges her not to worry about their dwindling finances, it's all Caymen can think about.  Unlike other high school seniors, she can't focus on boys or parties or even college, not when it's up to her to make sure the shop turns a profit, no matter how meager it may be.

When gorgeous Xander Spence wanders into the store on an errand for his grandma, Caymen tries to resist his easy charm.  She doesn't have time for a guy, especially not an entitled snob like Xander.  And yet, there's a sweetness about him that makes her wonder if she's judging him too harshly.  She knows a relationship between them would never work out, but maybe it's worth a shot.  Except, there's the shop, which requires all her extra energy.  And her mother, who constantly warns Caymen to stay away from rich boys.  Her mom's already acting strangely—Caymen doesn't dare cross her.  Not now.

But.

The more Xander comes around, the more Caymen's resistance slips.  Isn't it time she did something for herself?  Even if it costs everything she has, including her fragile heart?

The Distance Between Us, a contemporary YA romance by Kasie West, has been getting lots of buzz around the book blogosphere.  With its soft, pretty cover; sparkly seaside setting; and easy-breezy premise, it's being lauded as a perfect summer read.  A sentiment with which I agree.  Mostly.  The best thing about the novel is, without a doubt, the sweet, slow-growing relationship between Caymen and Xander.  It's fun and innocent, if not very realistic.  The big problem with the couple's story lies in the novel's almost non-existent plot.  Because, really, not much happens in this book.  The central conflict exists mostly in Caymen's head and the big, dramatic moments are all pretty contrived.  Overall, then, I found The Distance Between Us cute, but lacking.  Even for a "beach read," it's pretty substance-less.  Bummer, that.   

(Readalikes:  The book's being billed as "Pretty in Pink meets Pride & Prejudice," which sounds pretty accurate to me!)

Grade:  



If this were a movie, it would be rated:

 for mild sexual innuendo and depictions of underage drinking

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Distance Between Us from the generous folks at HarperTeen.  Thank you!

5 comments:

  1. I don't know what the heck happened! I had you on my bloglovin list then I just thought why haven't I seen posts from you recently. So I looked at my list again and sure enough you weren't on it! You've been added again. :) This book sounds cute and light. I love the pride and prejudice idea!
    Clean Teen Fiction
    Clean Adult Fiction

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

      Delete
    2. Thanks, Kathryn! I'm still figuring out how Bloglovin works -- hopefully none of my favorite blogs have gotten lost in the shuffle. Yours is definitely on my list :)

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. I had no idea. Thanks for letting me know, Andrew!

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive