Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Lucky Number Thirteen

(Image from author's blog)

For the 13th day of December, the good folks at Quirk Books asked me to post about a fun new book they just published.  If you've got a young book lover on your Christmas list, you're definitely going to want to pay attention to this review!  

Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye by Tania Del Rio is the first in a middle grade series featuring the titular character.  Our hero is the 13th in a long line of Warrens, all of whom have been responsible for the care of the family hotel.  After the untimely death of his father, Warren the 13th became the newest owner; at only 12, however, he's not yet old enough to assume command of its operations.  Under the temporary direction of Warren's lazy Uncle Rupert, the Warren Hotel has become a derelict edifice, empty of guests for the last five years.  Dutiful Warren, who serves as the hotel's only bellhop/handyman/housekeeper/general errand boy, spends his days cleaning, repairing, and taking care of his inheritance as best he can.  Despite the cruelty Rupert's wife, Annaconda, inflicts on Warren, he remains cheerful, positive, and dedicated to his job.

When a mysterious guest checks into the hotel, Warren is shocked.  And intrigued.  Something strange is definitely going on.  With more guests arriving and Aunt Annaconda muttering about the All-Seeing Eye, it quickly becomes apparent that people are searching The Warren Hotel for its fabled treasure.  If Annaconda finds it first, Warren knows, nothing will be safe—not his beloved home, not his few (but loyal) friends, and certainly not himself.  In a frantic race for the hidden prize, Warren will encounter everything from witches to pirates to a monster in the boiler room.  With so many obstacles in his way, how will Warren beat Annaconda at her own game?  It's a perilous quest, but one our brave hero must undertake in order to save the people and the hotel he loves.

Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye is a clever, quirky book that tells a tale full of adventure, magic, and charm.  Eye-catching illustrations (by Will Staehle), all done in black, white, and red give the story extra appeal as do the puzzles, secret messages, and playful text boxes scattered throughout the book.  These extras make an already well-written story even more engrossing.  With all these elements working in seamless tandem, Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye makes for an entertaining, enjoyable reading experience that will enchant readers of all ages.  It bespelled me quite thoroughly, thank you very much.  I can't wait to see what Warren the 13th gets up to next!

(Readalikes:  Reminds me a little of Escape From Mr. Lemoncello's Library by Chris Grabenstein)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Warren the 13th and the All-Seeing Eye from the generous folks at Quirk Books.  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. This does sound like a fun read. I like to dip into middle grade fiction once in awhile...especially when the story is clever and/or funny and well-written. I'm putting this one on my list! :)

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin