Friday, December 30, 2016

The Trespasser Another Engrossing Thriller in a Series That Never Disappoints

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Antoinette Conway has finally reached her goal of being on the illustrious Dublin Murder Squad.  But after two years on the job, the 32-year-old detective still doesn't feel like part of the team.  As the only female member, she always seems to be the target of practical jokes, cruel taunts, and sexist sneering.  Antoinette has a tough shell, but after everything she's been through, it's starting to crack.

Used to receiving the worst cases, Antoinette and her partner—the affable Steve Moran—see their newest assignment as another hum drum domestic dispute.  Aislinn Murray, a pretty receptionist, has been found dead in her immaculate home, her body cooling next to a romantic table setting for two.  Her boyfriend, an intense bookstore owner, seems the obvious killer.  But, as Conway and Moran soon discover, there is much more to the story than meets the eye.  For one thing, Antoinette recognizes Aislinn.  She can't quite put her finger on it, but the detective knows the victim.  If only she could remember how ...

As the investigation goes deeper, Antoinette is feeling increasingly paranoid.  Her "partners" on the squad are trying to get rid of her, even Steve—her only ally—seems to be turning on her, and she's noticed a shadowy presence lurking outside her house.  Can Antoinette figure out what happened to Antoinette before she, herself, becomes a victim?  Who is Aislinn and why was she killed?  The faster Antoinette finds out, the safer she'll be.

I've enjoyed every book in Tana French's Dublin Murder Squad series.  Each stars a different detective on the Squad, some of who are more intriguing than others.  Antoinette, star of French's newest novel, The Trespasser, is interesting enough.  Tough and brave, she's easy to cheer on and admire.  Like all French's books, The Trespasser boasts a twisty, compelling plot that's guaranteed to keep readers whipping through pages way past bedtime.  Although this isn't my favorite of the series, I enjoyed it.  I could have done without all the profanity, but I endure it because I'm such a big French fan.  If she writes it, I'll read it.  

(Readalikes: Other books in the series including In the Woods; The Likeness; Faithful Place; Broken Harbor; and The Secret Place)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, blood/gore, sexual content, and depictions of illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of The Trespasser from the generous folks at Viking (an imprint of Penguin Random House) via those at Edelweiss.  Thank you!

8 comments:

  1. Her books are always so compelling and unforgettable. I haven't read this one yet, but am looking forward to it. (Despite all the
    f-words in it.) :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. French does love her F-bombs. I wish she didn't, but her books are so compelling that I read them anyway!

      Delete
  2. New Years Goal: Read a Tana French book already!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You should! They're definitely R-rated, but very good. I'll be interested to see what you think of French.

      Delete
  3. I liked it too, but like you it wasn't my favorite by her.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think my favorite is THE LIKENESS. Or maybe FAITHFUL PLACE. Not sure.

      Delete
  4. I have yet to read a Tana French book. The gory parts scary me off though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, her books are definitely R-rated. Lots of language and violence. I wish they were more in the PG-13 range -- it would be a lot easier to recommend them to people if they were.

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin