Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


18 / 51 states. 35% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


20 / 50 books. 40% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 50 books. 76% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 52 books. 63% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 40 books. 57% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


24 / 26.2 miles. 92% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 100 books. 19% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 104 books. 47% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 165 books. 27% done!
Monday, December 05, 2016

San Francisco Earthquake Novel Engrossing, Enjoyable

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Mercy Wong wants more than the life of poverty and prejudice she's living in San Francisco's Chinatown.  The 15-year-old longs to be a great businesswoman with enough money to elevate her family above its lowly station.  She has the smarts for it as well as the ambition.  But this is 1906 and Chinese people are not exactly welcome in California's hallowed halls of learning.  It will take more than intelligence to get Mercy where she wants to be.

With a lot of pluck (and a little bribery), she lands herself a place at a posh boarding school for wealthy white girls.  Pretending to be an exotic heiress, she tries desperately to keep her real identity a secret from her snooty classmates.  When disaster strikes San Francisco, Mercy sees her bright future crumbling before her eyes.  In a city now dominated by chaos and catastrophe, how will a penniless Chinese girl survive?  As Mercy launches a desperate search for her missing family, she'll find the one person who is truly lost—herself.

Under a Painted SkyStacey Lee's debut novel—impressed me with its compelling mixture of history, adventure and romance as well as its engaging prose and appealing characters.  Because I enjoyed her freshman endeavor so much, I eagerly picked up Lee's sophomore effort.  And I was not disappointed.  Not at all.  Once again, Lee has created a plucky Chinese-American heroine whose courage and compassion make her both likable and admirable.  The novel's plot moves forward at a fast clip, making it as engrossing as it is entertaining.  Although the story focuses more on relationships between the characters than on the great earthquake, it's still an exciting tale that's also vivid, fun, and hopeful.  Having thoroughly enjoyed both of Lee's novels, I'm eagerly awaiting her newest, The Secret of a Heart Note, which comes out in a few weeks.  

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Dear America: A City Tossed and Broken by Judy Blundell; The Fire Horse Girl by Kay Honeyman; and a little of Nancy Herriman's Old San Francisco mystery novels [No Comfort for the Lost; No Pity for the Dead])

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), violence, and mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

2 comments:

  1. Sounds cute. I'm ok with characters and relationships being front and center during a historical event.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This is one that has been on my radar for a while. I think it sounds really interesting. Her newest one is also one I want to read and have heard good things about. Great review!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive