Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


9 / 30 books. 30% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (6)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


14 / 51 states. 27% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


37 / 50 books. 74% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 52 books. 56% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 40 books. 55% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 26.2 miles. 84% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


18 / 100 books. 18% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 104 books. 41% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 165 books. 24% done!
Thursday, January 17, 2013

YA Immigration Novel as Exciting and Powerful as, well, a Fire Horse Girl

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Everyone knows that girls born in the Year of the Fire Horse take on that animal's worst traits—stubbornness, willfulness, independence.  All are qualities guaranteed to bring shame upon her family.  With such a portentous zodiac sign, 16-year-old Jade Moon Chang doesn't stand a chance.  Every move she makes in her little Chinese village is watched, judged.  Finding a man willing to marry such an unlucky girl is the worry of her father and grandfather.  Jade Moon fears the same, but for different reasons.  The last thing she wants is to remain in her tiny town, leashed by a husband who controls her every step.

Then, a stranger arrives, changing everything.  Sterling Promise, Jade Moon's adopted cousin from Hong Kong, comes bearing an amazing opportunity: a chance to live in America.  It sounds too good to be true, especially coming from the smooth-talking Sterling Promise.  Still, Jade Moon can't contain her excitement.  Not only is she leaving Jinjui Village, she's going to America!  A Fire Horse is sure to be welcome in that modern, enterprising world.

But, it's 1923, and Chinese immigrants aren't exactly welcomed to the U.S. with open arms.  In fact, they're held at Angel Island, near San Francisco.  A survey of her fellow detainees confirms that Jade Moon could be held there for days, weeks, even years—as long as it takes to determine she qualifies to stay in America.  If she doesn't pass muster, she'll be deported.  Jade Moon can't let that happen, but as the weeks roll by, she knows she can't remain on Angel Island either.  What is a Fire Horse girl to do?  Take matters into her own hands, of course.  As Jade Moon takes command of her own destiny, she steps right into San Francisco's ugly underbelly.  It's an adventure, sure, but not one anyone—even a Fire Horse girl—is likely to survive.

The Fire Horse Girl, a debut novel by Kay Honeyman, brings the Chinese immigrant experience to vivid life in a story that's as exciting as it is heartfelt.  Jade Moon is a sympathetic heroine, likable because of both her bravery and vulnerability.  Her adventure doesn't gloss over the harsh realities faced by Chinese immigrants in the 1920s—it celebrates their courage.  The Fire Horse Girl kept me thoroughly engrossed, totally entertained and thoroughly charmed.  I loved it.     

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other books about Asian immigrants coming to the U.S., especially those by Amy Tan and Lisa See)

Grade:  B+

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG for mild language (no F-bombs), violence and references (brief and not overly graphic) to prostitution

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Fire Horse Girl from the generous folks at Scholastic.  Thank you!

  

1 comment:

  1. This one is coming up soon on my review list. So excited that you loved it because now I really can't wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive