Thursday, September 08, 2016

Easy Breezy Summer Romance a Warm, Fun Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Running a beachside taco stand gives Sophie Newton a front-row seat from which to view other people's happiness.  From the newlyweds who coo at each other over carne asada to the exuberant families sampling homemade salsa to sun-kissed teenagers flirting over fish tacos—it gets a little nauseating for a 28-year-old woman who hasn't quite gotten over a bitter break-up nine months ago.  The accusation her ex-fiancé flung at her ("You're already married to your taco stand!") might be true, but that doesn't mean The Sandy Tortilla is all Sophie wants out of life.

When her teenage employees flake on her at the worst possible time, Sophie finds herself desperate for an extra set of hands at the taco stand.  She ropes in a gorgeous stranger, offering Montgomery "Mont" Winters more money than she can afford to if he'll promise to help out for a few weeks.  Intrigued by both the cash and his pretty new boss, Mont agrees.  
It soon becomes obvious that the jalapeños aren't the only thing that's hot at The Sandy Tortilla.  But as the relationship between Sophie and Mont heats up, both began to doubt it can really work.  Mont's an up-and-coming movie star with an unpredictable schedule and, as one man has already pointed out, Sophie's more than a little tied to her booming beachside business.  Mont's a spontaneous free-wheeler who follows his heart; Sophie's a planner who lives by her lists.  Can two such opposite people make a lasting relationship out of their sizzling summer romance?  Or will it endure only until summer ends?

Perhaps best known for her YA books, Elana Johnson also pens romance novels for an older crowd.  Until Summer Ends, an easy, breezy story of sun and surf and unexpected love, is her newest.  It's a fun read with a warm, enchanting setting populated by characters who are engaging, though not terribly complex.  The plot's as predictable as the sunrise, but it's still fun to see Sophie and Mont fight for their Happily Ever After.  Yeah, they're both kind of shallow, yeah Mont's "passion" for being an actor doesn't feel very authentic, and yeah, the whole book's pretty cliché.  Still.  Bottom line?  I enjoyed this one, even if I wasn't blown away by it.  If you're looking for a light, sexy summer sizzler, definitely give it a go.

Bonus:  To celebrate the release of Until Summer Ends, the author is giving away a Kindle Paperwhite.  Click here to enter.

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen and The Distance Between Us by Kasie West)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for sexual innuendo and mild sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  I received a copy of Until Summer Ends from the author in exchange for participating in the book's blog tour.  Thank you!

3 comments:

  1. I had no idea that Elana wrote adult books! Fasincating. I'm ok with the same old story lines as long as it gives me feels.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was news to me, too! Some of them are written under her pen name, Liz Isaacson. This is actually the only book by Elana I've ever read. Shame on me.

      Delete
  2. Predictable is OK as long as it is fine well. Sounds like a great beach read!! Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin