Wednesday, May 04, 2016

Southern Family Drama Enjoyable Despite Predictable Plot

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Still guilt-ridden over her part in the accident that left her sister wheelchair-bound, 30-year-old Eleanor Murray spends her days helping Eve perform the tasks she can no longer do for herself.  Eleanor knows she shouldn't feel jealous of her disabled sister, but she does.  As beautiful as ever, Eve is married to Glen, a good man who works hard to support her.  She's also expecting the couple's first child.  With no real life of her own, Eleanor can't help but be envious.  Especially since she's loved Glen ever since she first met him.  Living in the same house as her sister and brother-in-law makes the situation even more torturous.

When Eleanor is offered the chance to work as a part-time companion for an elderly woman, she jumps at the opportunity.  Not only is the money too good to pass up, but the job will give her the opportunity to return to Edisto Island, the magical place where she spent her childhood.  Dealing with 90-year-old Helena Szarka won't be easy, though.  The cantankerous old woman obviously doesn't want Eleanor around.  Intrigued by the secrets Eleanor knows Helena harbors, she vows to get to the heart of the old woman's bitterness.  But will shocking revelations tear apart the people Eleanor's coming to love?  And what of her own family?  Will she ever find her own happiness?  Or will she forever live in the shadow of a sister who eclipses her even from a wheelchair?  

I've read most of Karen White's novels, but somehow The Time Between (2014) escaped my attention.  Until now.  Like the author's other books, this one offers a multi-layered family saga with a gentle Southern setting, empathetic characters, and an intriguing mystery.  The story doesn't offer a lot in the way of originality.  Or surprises, as I saw the twists coming from a mile away.  Still, The Time Between is a satisfying read that's compelling in spite of its predictability.  If you enjoy Southern family dramas, definitely check out Karen White.  This particular novel isn't my favorite of hers, but I've enjoyed all the ones I've read.

(Readalikes:  The premise reminds me of Kate Morton's novels.  The style is vintage Karen White.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild violence; brief, non-graphic sex; and sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love: Another library fine find

1 comment:

  1. Sounds like I need to check out this author.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin