Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (4)
- Arkansas (1)
- California (11)
- Colorado (2)
- Connecticut (2)
- Delaware (1)
- Florida (2)
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (2)
- Idaho (1)
- Illinois (6)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas (1)
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri (1)
- Montana (3)
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (3)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (11)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota (1)
- Ohio (7)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (3)
- Pennsylvania (5)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota (1)
- Tennessee (3)
- Texas (6)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (6)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (2)
- Wyoming (2)
- *Washington, D.C. (1)

International:
Australia (3)
Canada (8)
China (2)
England (17)
France (2)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Japan (1)
Norway (1)
Scotland (1)
Spain (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


51 / 51 states. 100% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


21 / 24 books. 88% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 52 books. 79% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


47 / 52 books. 90% done!
Thursday, December 31, 2015

True Account of To Kill A Mockingbird-esque Case Makes for Fascinating, Eye-Opening Reading

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

In 1983, when he was a 23-year-old Harvard Law student, Bryan Stevenson took an intensive class which focused on race and poverty litigation.  As part of the course, he began an internship with the Southern Prisoners Defense Committee (SPDC) in Atlanta.  Working with the organization, which helps death row inmates, opened his eyes and changed his life.  Embracing the principle Each of us is more than the worst thing we've ever done (17-18), Stevenson has since dedicated himself to fighting mistreatment in the criminal justice system, especially when it concerns those who are most vulnerable—minorities, the poor, the wrongly accused, women, children, etc.  

In Just Mercy, Stevenson's first book, he recounts a situation he encountered early in his career.  It was during his fourth year with the SPDC that the young lawyer became embroiled in a real-life To Kill a Mockingbird-esque case that would teach him truths so startling and profound he would never forget them.  While visiting a prison in Alabama—a state that had a large incarcerated population and no public defender system, meaning many of its death row inmates had no legal representation at all—Stevenson met Walter McMillian, a middle-aged African-American man from, ironically enough, Monroe County, Alabama.  Like the fictional Tom Robinson, McMillian was accused of harming a young white woman.  In McMillian's case, it was a murder charge—Ronda Morrison, an 18-year-old store clerk, had been shot during what appeared to be a robbery at her place of employment.  While Morrison upheld an unblemished reputation, McMillian's was undeniably spotty.  Though married, he was a notorious ladies' man (who had just ended a troublesome relationship with his white, married lover), who was also rumored to be part of the "Dixie mafia" and a drug dealer.  Still, McMillian emphatically maintained his innocence in Morrison's killing.  Although he had an alibi for the night the crime was committed, one verified by a dozen people, police pursued the matter, which eventually landed McMillian on death row.

The many inconsistencies in the case against Walter McMillian became apparent as soon as Stevenson began investigating it.  Stunned by the prejudice and incompetence he uncovered, the attorney vowed to free McMillian from prison.  Doing so would prove to be unimaginably difficult, steeped as the case was in racism, prejudice, conspiracy, lies, etc.  It would also change the way Stevenson viewed mercy and justice—forever.  

I hadn't heard of Bryan Stevenson or Walter McMillian before picking up Just Mercy.  In fact, I knew nothing about the book until my husband randomly plucked the audio version of it from off a library shelf.  After completing a road trip during which both he and his aunt listened, spellbound, to the story, my husband recommended I read it.  I did.  Like my husband and aunt-in-law, I found myself transfixed by Stevenson's account of defending McMillian.  I've never thought the criminal justice system perfect, but reading about such obvious kinks in its workings definitely reminded me of its many flaws.  Using McMillian's case as just one example, Stevenson makes some very convincing arguments about mercy, justice, and prison reform.  While Just Mercy gets undeniably depressing, it's also inspiring.  Eye-opening, jaw-dropping, heart-breaking, thought-provoking—all these adjectives describe the effect it had on me.  You may not agree with Stevenson's findings, but you will no doubt find his book illuminating.  I highly recommend it.  

(Readalikes:  While the books are not similar in tone or style, Just Mercy did remind me of To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee; also of A Time to Kill by John Grisham)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), and disturbing themes, including rape, drug abuse, violence, child abuse, etc.

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Just Mercy from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.  

3 comments:

  1. I listened to this one at the beginning of the year. It was both amazing and utterly horrifying. I kept telling my husband that if I had seen Walter's story in movie form I would have been upset at how ridiculous/unrealistic the whole thing was. Awful.

    Have you seen Stevenson's TED talk? Same basic ideas, but very excellently presented. It's worth googling.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This one sound fascinating. I know it would infuriate me though. I hate stupid, biased "justice".

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've been wanting to read this one for awhile, and I know I need to get to it soon! Is it good in audio format?

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
How to Get Away with Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive