Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


5 / 30 books. 17% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- England (3)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


9 / 51 states. 18% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


6 / 50 books. 12% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


12 / 50 books. 24% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 52 books. 38% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


2 / 25 books. 8% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 26.2 miles. 42% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


11 / 100 books. 11% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 104 books. 23% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 52 books. 44% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 165 books. 14% done!
Friday, July 03, 2015

Hale Team Pens Charming Adventure Starring a Prim and Proper Princess—With a (Not So) Dark Side

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Magnolia is a proper princess—prim and perfect.  At least that's what everyone thinks.  But behind her frilly pink dresses and sparkly tiara lies a super-secret identity.  No one can know about her alter-ego, especially not the ultra-nosy Duchess Wigtower.  So, when the monster alarm on Princess Magnolia's glitter stone ring goes off while she and the Duchess are sipping hot chocolate and nibbling scones, Magnolia panics.  Does she dare leave her meddling guest in the castle alone?  What if Duchess Wigtower discovers the secrets hidden in Magnolia's broom closet?  Will it mean the end of the Princess in Black's heroic, goat-saving adventures?  Will Princess Magnolia have to be prim and proper all the time?  Gasp!  To save herself from a fate worse than death, she'll have to fight a monster, protect a life, and return home in time to fool the nosy Duchess.  It's a tall order, even for the fastest, most courageous of superheroes.  Is the Princess in Black up to the task? 

As you can probably tell, The Princess in Black—a new middle grade adventure from Shannon and Dean Hale (illustrated by LeUyen Pham)—oozes charm.  It's light, it's fun, it's empowering, it's delightful.  Seriously, what's not to love?  I dare you not to smile through the whole book.  It's impossible, I tell you.  My 6-year-old daughter and I highly recommend this adorable tale from a husband-and-wife team who know how to spin a story just right.  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Princess in Black from the generous folks at Candlewick Press.  Thank you!

1 comment:

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive