Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


33.2 / 26.2 miles. 127% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


56 / 104 books. 54% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


57 / 165 books. 35% done!
Monday, March 16, 2015

Overambitious Far From You Not All That Enjoyable

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Sophie Winters has a knack for survival.  Three years ago, she almost lost her life in a car accident.  She walked away with her life, as well as a permanent limp and an addiction to OxyContin.  Now a recovering addict, the 17-year-old has just experienced another terrifying brush with death.  Although she survived being held up by a masked man with a gun, her best friend, Mina Bishop, did not.  Since the incident is believed to be drug related, Sophie is being blamed.  No one believes she's kicked her drug addiction.  No one believes she's not responsible for Mina's death.  

The only way to convince people she's innocent is for Sophie to figure out who really killed Mina.  In the meantime, she must wrangle with her feelings of grief, of guilt, and of moving forward without her best friend by her side.

Far From You, a debut novel by Tess Sharpe, is many things.  Too many things, really.  It's a murder mystery, a romance, an issue novel, and an addiction/recovery story.  The problem is that there's a little too much going on.  I, for instance, would have liked a stronger focus on the mystery instead of Sophie's weird, obsessive romance.  Sophie's harsh, self-absorbed personality also made it difficult for me to care too much for her in general.  So, while the conflicts in the story kept me reading, I can't say I enjoyed Far From You all that much.  The characters didn't appeal to me, the plot seemed too ambitious, the big reveal too abrupt, and overall, the novel depressed me.  So, yeah.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, depictions of underage drinking/prescription drug abuse, violence, and sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Far From You from the generous folks at Disney/Hyperion via those at NetGalley.  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. I hate when a book shoves too much into one story. Sorry this one was so drab.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive