Saturday, March 23, 2013

It's As Fun and Refreshing As A Day at the Lake

 (Images courtesy of Scarletta Press)

Although I read a lot of picture books (thanks to my 4-year-old story lover), I don't review many of them.  So, when the good folks over at Scarletta Press contacted me about taking a look at the titles they've recently published with their Kids imprint, I hesitated.  Then, A Day at the Lake by Stephanie Wallingford and Dawn Rynders (with illustrations by Erica Pelton Villnave) caught my eye.  The cover looked so inviting that I just couldn't resist taking the plunge (pun very much intended).  

With playful, rhyming text and whimsical illustrations, the book brings the excitement of a lake trip to vivid life.  Readers will enjoy following along as three kids spend a memorable day bobbing about in a rowboat, swimming in the clear water, discovering creatures of all kinds, and watching the sun set after a busy, fun-filled day.  

A perfect read with which to welcome the warm, summer weather (which we're already experiencing here in the Phoenix area), A Day at the Lake will charm water lovers of all ages.







(Readalikes:  Reminded me a little of In the Small, Small Pond and In the Tall, Tall Grass by Denise Fleming)

Grade:  B

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  G

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of A Day at the Lake from the generous folks at Scarletta Press.  Thank you!

2 comments:

  1. I love the look of the illustrations! I'll have to find this one for my littlest friends.

    ReplyDelete
  2. oh just those illustrations make me want to so swimming soooo bad! looks like a really cute book, bet my princess would LOVE it!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin