Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (9)
- Colorado (3)
- Connecticut (2)
- Delaware
- Florida (3)
- Georgia (3)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (1)
- Illinois (3)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas (1)
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (2)
- Maine (2)
- Maryland (3)
- Massachusetts (6)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (2)
- Mississippi (2)
- Missouri (1)
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (2)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (12)
- North Carolina (5)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (4)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (1)
- Pennsylvania (3)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota (1)
- Tennessee (2)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (3)
- Vermont (3)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming (1)
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (3)
Egypt (2)
England (16)
France (1)
Greece (1)
India (1)Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Malaysia (1)
Nepal (1)
Poland (1)
Portugal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


46 / 51 states. 90% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


73 / 53 books. 125% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


46 / 52 books. 88% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 50 books. 80% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


47 / 52 books. 90% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 40 books. 100% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Wednesday, January 02, 2013

Bright, Timeless Children's Tale A Delight

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

As the scorching South Carolina summer blazes on, Stella is searching for something—anything—to do.  The long days would be way more exciting if she had a dog to play with, but she doesn't.  All she's got is boring ole Gerald Baxter.  Even though Stella's brimming with grand ideas for adventure, her best friend never wants to try them.  Stella's sick of sitting around playing Crazy Eights with Gerald, she wants to do something.  Something exciting. 

When Stella spots a one-legged pigeon flying through town, she knows this is it.  This is the something for which she's been waiting all summer.  Gerald's not all that enamored with the idea of catching the bird, but Stella won't back down this time.  She's determined to make it her pet, with or without his help.  It won't be easy, though.  Every kid in town—including Stella's rotten older brother—is trying to capture the one-legged pigeon.  Unbeknownst to them all, the bird's already got an owner and Mr. Mineo is desperate to have him back.  And what about Sherman?  The pigeon's got his own ideas about where he wants to go.  With all of Meadville, South Carolina on his tail, where—and with whom—will the one-legged pigeon end up?  

On the Road to Mr. Mineo's, the newest middle grade novel by Barbara O'Connor, is a sweet, timeless kind of story.  It's quick, bright and entertaining—not unlike Sherman himself.  As far as substance goes, there's not a lot, but still, the book's tells fun story that will delight both children and adults.     

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:  B

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  G

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of On the Road to Mr. Mineo's from the generous folks at Farrar Straus and Giroux (an imprint of Macmillan).  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. This sounds so cute. I hope I have kids some day to read to. Reading middle grade or kids books when your a single adult isn't as fun.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive