Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont (1)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (7)
- France (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


18 / 51 states. 35% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


20 / 50 books. 40% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 50 books. 76% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 52 books. 63% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 40 books. 57% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


24 / 26.2 miles. 92% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


19 / 100 books. 19% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 104 books. 47% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 165 books. 27% done!
Wednesday, January 02, 2013

Bright, Timeless Children's Tale A Delight

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

As the scorching South Carolina summer blazes on, Stella is searching for something—anything—to do.  The long days would be way more exciting if she had a dog to play with, but she doesn't.  All she's got is boring ole Gerald Baxter.  Even though Stella's brimming with grand ideas for adventure, her best friend never wants to try them.  Stella's sick of sitting around playing Crazy Eights with Gerald, she wants to do something.  Something exciting. 

When Stella spots a one-legged pigeon flying through town, she knows this is it.  This is the something for which she's been waiting all summer.  Gerald's not all that enamored with the idea of catching the bird, but Stella won't back down this time.  She's determined to make it her pet, with or without his help.  It won't be easy, though.  Every kid in town—including Stella's rotten older brother—is trying to capture the one-legged pigeon.  Unbeknownst to them all, the bird's already got an owner and Mr. Mineo is desperate to have him back.  And what about Sherman?  The pigeon's got his own ideas about where he wants to go.  With all of Meadville, South Carolina on his tail, where—and with whom—will the one-legged pigeon end up?  

On the Road to Mr. Mineo's, the newest middle grade novel by Barbara O'Connor, is a sweet, timeless kind of story.  It's quick, bright and entertaining—not unlike Sherman himself.  As far as substance goes, there's not a lot, but still, the book's tells fun story that will delight both children and adults.     

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:  B

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  G

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of On the Road to Mr. Mineo's from the generous folks at Farrar Straus and Giroux (an imprint of Macmillan).  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. This sounds so cute. I hope I have kids some day to read to. Reading middle grade or kids books when your a single adult isn't as fun.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Swimming in a Sea of Stars by Julie Wright

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Tobacco Wives by Adele Myer



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive