Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Wednesday, November 27, 2013

If It Weren't For Those Weird, Awkward Scenes ...

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

With the threat of nuclear war hanging in the balmy air, the summer of 1962 feels unlike any other.  Scott Porter spends the long, school-free days doing what he's always done—playing baseball with his friends, spying on girls, trying to stay out of trouble—but the 11-year-old goes home to alarming newspaper headlines and hissed, heated discussions between his parents.  To the endless amusement of their less-paranoid neighbors, Scott's dad has built a bomb shelter for his family.  If worse comes to worst, the Porters will have everything they need to survive underground for two weeks, the time it will take for the radiation-saturated air to clear.  Scott hopes there will never be a need to use the shelter, but as global tension intensifies, he can't be quite sure there will be a tomorrow at all.

When the unthinkable happens, Scott finds himself crammed into the shelter, not just with his family but also with six of his disbelieving neighbors.  The supplies Scott's father stocked can't last for long, not with ten people using them.  And civility's running out even faster.  As the days wear on, the shell-shocked refugees must learn to survive—not just whatever happened in the outside world, but everything that's taking place inside the crowded shelter.  With tempers flaring, food being rationed, and cabin fever taking its toll, busting out of the shelter is looking better and better.  No one knows what's happened to the New York they left above ground.  Do the terrified shelter-dwellers dare to emerge?  What will they find if they do?  Which will kill them faster—radiation, starvation or each other?  Scott's about to find out.

Everything about the premise of Fallout by Todd Strasser appeals to me.  An imminent apocalypse?  Check.  Neighbors pitted against neighbors in a desperate bid for survival?  Check.  A tense, psychological examination of people's actions in a time of crisis, told from a child's point-of-view?  Check, check.  Because, apparently, I have a warped sense of what is entertaining, I really, really wanted to read this book.  So, I did.  Is the story as fascinating as it sounds?  In a word: yes.  Fallout tells a tense, compelling tale that kept me burning through the pages to find out the fate of the survivors.  If it weren't for some weird, awkward discussions about naked women (including the boys' mothers), I would have really enjoyed this one.  Given those odd scenes, plus the fact that Fallout is (naturally) quite depressing, this novel turned into just an okay read for me.  Ah, well.            

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of other books about groups of people struggling to survive crises in enclosed spaces like Trapped by Michael Northrop; The Compound by S.A. Bodeen; and The Diary of Anne Frank; also of Countdown by Deborah Wiles, which is also about the Cuban Missile Crisis)

Grade:  


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, sexual innuendo and mature themes

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Fallout from the generous folks at Candlewick Press.  Thank you!

4 comments:

  1. This sounds like a depressing read. I can see how it can be really interesting and intense, but not for me. Great review. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Awesome review! Straight to the point.

    I thought about reading this book, but then I changed my mind. And after your review, I think Fallout is not for me.

    ReplyDelete
  3. A well-written review! Fallout sounds interesting, but somewhat uncomfortable. Given how many books I've already got on my TBR list, I think I'll let this one go.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive