Monday, August 12, 2013

Underwater Middle Grade Mystery An Enjoyable, Satisfying Adventure

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

On the day Cassie Romano entered the world, her hometown disappeared beneath two hundred feet of water.  It wasn't a natural disaster that drowned Old Lower Grange, but a deliberate move intended to create a dam. The town's residents cheered the project, moving themselves to a nearby location (called New Lower Grange, naturally) with little protest.  Now, twelve years later, no one seems to care a lick about the ghost town sitting at the bottom of the lake.  No one but Cassie, who's obsessed with a place she's never even laid eyes on before.  The ruins haunt her, drawing her to them, even though she's been told all her life to stay away from that part of the lake.  

When Cassie decides to explore Old Lower Grange on her own, she realizes just how dangerous the prospect really is.  Not only is the water deeper than it seems, but trespassing there is against town law.  If she's caught, she'll be in the worst trouble of her life.  And, yet, Cassie knows there's a mystery buried under all that water.  With the help of her friend Liam Price, Cassie's determined to find out the secrets of Old Lower Grange.  There's only one thing she knows for certain:  some people will do anything to keep them hidden.  

Below, a new middle grade novel by Australian author Meg McKinlay, tells an intriguing story about a girl whose desperate need for connection propels her on an exciting, life-changing search for answers.  With its eerie setting, quick-paced storyline and sympathetic characters, the book's an enjoyable, satisfying adventure.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:  


If this were a movie, it would be rated:

for brief, mild language and intense situations

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Below from the generous folks at Candlewick Press.  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. I've been hearing about this book all of a sudden. It sounds very intriguing. Gonna have to go find it! Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin