Wednesday, October 03, 2012

Sweeping Southern Mystery Begs to Be Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Hendrix, a tiny backwater town in northern Florida, holds its share of secrets.  And more.  Jolie's heard the whispers and rumors all her life.  She's a Hoyt, after all, and thus aware of her family's sometimes unsavory history, if not privy to the details.  As tight-lipped as the rest of her kin, 18-year-old Jolie knows better than to go blabbing about skeletons in the Hoyt Family closets.  Then, Sam Lense comes along.  A Jewish graduate student from Miami, the 24-year-old is, without a doubt, the most exotic person ever to stroll down the streets of Hendrix.  It's not long before Jolie and Sam are getting cozy in Sam's cramped RV, not long before she's introducing him to the relatives, only a wee bit longer before he's getting a little too close to secrets the Hoyts would just as soon keep buried.  Forever.

Twelve years after Sam leaves Hendrix, vowing never to return, a black businessman comes to town, stirring up the kind of trouble Sam never could leave well enough alone.  Before he knows it, he's back in Hendrix.  He's older, wiser, but still vulnerable to the town's peculiar brand of magic.  Jolie's not keen on having a bunch of outsiders sticking their noses where they don't belong, especially since it's her family that's under investigation.  Still, in spite of herself, Jolie finds that she needs to know the truth behind one of the biggest, ugliest, most notorious events in the history of the Hoyt family.  Even if it gets all of them killed.  And it just might.

Although American Ghost (available October 9, 2012) by Janis Owens is many things, the adjective that comes to mind most readily is atmospheric.  All good Southern novels are, of course, and usually charmingly so.  This one?  Not so much.  Its Southern folk are quirky, alright, as is their one-horse town, but in a way that's more sinister than sweet.  Hendrix, as Owens makes perfectly clear, is not the kind of place you want to live in or visit or even pass through.  Which, of course, makes it the perfect setting for a tense, haunting story like American Ghost.  The really weird thing is, the more time you spend in Hendrix, the more it seduces you, too.  Because, despite its scabbed-over appearance, the town just might become a place where two misfits can find truth, redemption and maybe—despite insurmountable odds—their own kind of happily ever after.  Engrossing and memorable, American Ghost is one of those books that just begs to be read.

(Readalikes:  Reminded me a little of Winter's Bone by Daniel Woodrell and a bit of A Time to Kill by John Grisham)

Grade:  B+

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  R for strong language, sexual content and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of American Ghost from the generous folks at Scribner (an imprint of Simon and Schuster) via ELLE magazine's Reader's Jury program.  Thank you!  

7 comments:

  1. It always cracks me up when you write this rave review and then give the book a B+. This one sounds great! I'm checking to see if my library has it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well, you know how rarely I hand out A's. A B+ means it was well-written and interesting, but it didn't absolutely blow me away with its perfection. Does that make sense?

      Delete
  2. Sigh! Another book that sounds good. There's so many!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Seriously. I wish the publishers would just churn out crap for the next few years so I can catch up on the good books I've already missed.

      Delete
  3. Sounds like a perfect Halloween read. My ward book club is doing And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie. But I'm missing book club and have read it anyways. I want to read American Ghost! I just put it on hold at Mesa library, but who knows when they'll get it in. Could I borrow your copy? I have 2 books to bring back to you too - how about next week? Are you on fall break? (We are not til the 14th.)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oooh, I love AND THEN THERE WERE NONE. I haven't read anything else by Agatha Christie, but I really should.

      As for AMERICAN GHOST, I'm so sorry, but I'm pretty sure I put my ARC in the recycle bin a few weeks ago :( I read it a month or so ago and post-dated this review so that it would come out near the book's release date. Sorry! Maybe the library has it ...

      You can bring the books back any time. No rush. We'll be houseboating over Fall Break. Maybe we can get together the week after?

      Delete
  4. I tried not once but many times to read american ghost story and it's creepy specially when i read it out of the darkness it feels like its getting on my nerve...this is one of my hobby reading a lots lots of books and i like to try this one im sure this is pretty much scary...another books that i read is www.sportsfanchronicles.com.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin