Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (2)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (5)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (9)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (1)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (14)
France (1)
Greece (1)
Ireland (1)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Poland (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


31 / 50 states. 62% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 53 books. 92% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


32 / 50 books. 64% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


37 / 40 books. 93% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Sunday, January 30, 2011

I Love It. Read It. Amen.

(Image from Indiebound)

(Note: Although this review will not contain spoilers from Monsters of Men, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from its predecessors. As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

I've tried to write a summary for Monsters of Men, the last book in the Chaos Walking series by Patrick Ness, but nothing's coming out quite right. The description on its jacket, however, lays it all out perfectly, I'm going to cheat and use it:

In the electrifying finale to the multi-award-winning Chaos Walking trilogy, the choices of one boy and one girl will decide the fate of a world.

As a world-ending war surges to life around them, Todd and Viola face monstrous decisions. The indigenous Spackle, thinking and acting as one, have mobilized to avenge their murdered people. Ruthless human leaders prepare to defend their factions at all costs, even as a convoy of new settlers approaches. And as the ceaseless Noise lays all throughts bare, the projected will of the few threatens to overwhelm the desparate desire of the many. The consequences of each action, each word, are unspeakably vast: To follow a tyrant or a terrorist? To save the life of the one you love most or thousands of strangers? To believe in redemption or assume it is lost? Becoming adults amid the tumoil, Todd and Viola question all they have known, racing through horror and outrage toward a shocking finale.

Good, right? As is this series - all the way to its very satisfying end. And, really, that's all I have to say about it. I love these books. Read them. Amen.

(Readalikes: The Knife of Never Letting Go and The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness)

Grade: A-

If this were a movie, it would be rated: PG-13 for language (no F-bombs), violence and mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love: Another library fine find

1 comment:

  1. I think i'll have to read these now. After Nate read Blindess I've been wanting to read something from your dystopian challenge, but just not Blindness. He said it was way too nasty and graphic like, super super rated R or borderline NC 17 at times. So i'm glad you rate these like movies cause this sounds like the series that will hit the spot. Now if I could just decide to abandon atonement or not

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive