Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (4)
- Arkansas (1)
- California (11)
- Colorado (2)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware (1)
- Florida (2)
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (2)
- Idaho (1)
- Illinois (6)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas (1)
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri (1)
- Montana (3)
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (3)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (11)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota (1)
- Ohio (7)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (3)
- Pennsylvania (5)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota (1)
- Tennessee (3)
- Texas (6)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (6)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (2)
- Wyoming (2)
- *Washington, D.C. (1)

International:
Australia (3)
Canada (8)
China (2)
England (16)
France (2)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Japan (1)
Norway (1)
Scotland (1)
Spain (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


51 / 51 states. 100% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


21 / 24 books. 88% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 52 books. 79% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


47 / 52 books. 90% done!
Saturday, January 23, 2021

Middle Grade Historical Offers a Vivid, Heart-wrenching Portrayal of Life in a Leper Colony

(Image from author's website)

Culion Island is a lush Filipino paradise boasting sparkling blue water, sweet-smelling flowers, trees hanging with ripe fruit, and a peaceful quiet.  It should be overrun with eager beachgoers.  But, high on a cliff, an eagle made of white flowers warns outsiders to keep away from Culion.  It's a one-way island; people can come, but no one ever leaves.  Those who are "touched" with leprosy are brought to Culion to keep them isolated while their bodies slowly deteriorate and die from the contagious disease.  

Amihan "Ami" Tala was born on Culion after her pregnant mother was diagnosed with leprosy and brought to the island.  Although the 12-year-old is herself untouched, the leper colony is her home—everything she's ever known and loved.  She has no desire to leave.  When Narciso Zamora, a sneering government official, comes to Culion to enforce new segregation laws, which will force the "clean" away from the "unclean," everyone is shocked.  Not only will many new sufferers be brought to the island, but the untouched children will be forced to leave.  Although the policy is supposed to be for the children's benefit, Ami cannot see how being taken from her mother and their tight-knit community could possibly be a good thing.  

With little choice in the matter, Ami is sent to an orphanage on nearby (but not near enough) Coron Island.  Subject to Mr. Zamora's cruelty and teasing from the other children, Ami knows she can't stay.  Together with a new friend, she vows to return to her home, no matter what it takes.  Can she get back to Culion safely?  With her mother's health declining rapidly, will Ami make it home in time?  Will she be allowed to stay?

I'm familiar with Moloka'i, Hawaii's famous leper colony, but I had never heard of Culion before, even though it held the largest leprosarium in the world for decades, starting in about 1906.  In The Island at the End of Everything, Kiran Millwood Hargrave brings the place to vivid life.  Through the eyes of Ami, she helps readers see and understand what it must have been like for Culion's residents when the government began enforcing divisive policies that separated spouses, families, and friends.  The tension makes for an intriguing but heartbreaking story.  Ami is a sympathetic heroine for whom it's easy to root.  Her story is filled with terror, adventure, and suspense, which keeps The Island at the End of Everything from getting dull.  In fact, the novel is compelling as well as poignant and hopeful.  While the ending is predictable, I still very much enjoyed this insightful middle grade novel.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Moloka'i by Alan Brennert)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence, disturbing subject matter, and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of The Island at the End of Everything with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

9 comments:

  1. What an impossible situation to be in. THis sounds like a great read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. A horrible situation! I've heard of leprosy colonies, of course, but never of this kind of forced segregation. Must have been horrendous.

      Delete
  2. This sounds like a tough read and a tough issue. I didn't know about the leper colony in Hawaii but I've heard of several others and it sounds like such a horrible situation.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had only heard of Moloka'i, but it makes sense that there were others since leprosy was such a contagious disease.

      The book definitely is about a tough situation, but it's also a hopeful novel overall.

      Delete
  3. I was thinking about the book Moloka'i (which is fantastic, by the way, I can't remember if you've read it or not) while reading your review. It's a great topic for middle grade readers.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, I read and loved MOLOKA'I back when it came out. Leprosy is not an issue I've read about otherwise, so I agree it's a good one to address in children's literature. It's always good for MG books to help kids empathize with others.

      Delete
  4. I have never read a book about a leper colony. This sounds like a really good read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There don't seem to be many out there. MOLOKA'I by Alan Brennert is an excellent adult book on the subject and this one is a good children's version. I haven't heard of any others, although I'm sure there are more ...

      Delete
  5. This sounds like a good read and I've to admit I haven't read many books about a leper colony. Perhaps this book and Moloka'i would be a good start.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
How to Get Away with Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive