Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Saturday, December 05, 2020

First Cookie House Mystery Serves Up Fresh-Baked Fun

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

After losing her pastry chef job at a Manhattan restaurant and her fiancé in one fell swoop, Kate McGuire is at loose ends.  Desperate for a new start, she heads to Coral Cay, a charming beach town in Florida.  When she spies a Help Wanted sign in the window of a local cookie shop, it seems like fate is finally smiling on her.  Sam Hepplewhite, The Cookie House's cantankerous owner, isn't so sure he needs Kate's help.  It's her job to convince him.

When money-grubbing bully Stewart Lord ends up dead after eating one of Sam's cinnamon rolls, the baker finds himself in hot water.  To save her boss and his beloved cookie shop, Kate knows she has to prove Sam's innocence.  With the help of her new Coral Cay friends, she sets about doing just that.  Can she find the killer before she ends up as dead as Stewart Lord?  

And Then There Were Crumbs is the first installment in Eve Calder's super fun Cookie House Mystery series.  It features a warm, friendly community setting; likable, upbeat characters; and a mystery that's intriguing enough (even if it's not very twisty or original).  The story's not very realistic (few cozies are), but it's not totally ridiculous either.  For all these reasons, I quite enjoyed this engaging series opener.  I'll definitely be reading on.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of cozy mysteries by Ellie Alexander, Vivien Chien, Amanda Flower, and Lena Gregory)  

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs) and violence

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

1 comment:

  1. There sure are a lot of cozies centered around food, aren't there? ;D

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive