Thursday, October 15, 2020

Japanese-American Internment Novel Heartbreaking, Thought-Provoking

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Before Pearl Harbor is bombed in 1942, the Takeda family is living in Los Angeles and doing very well for themselves.  Afterward, they start receiving the same distrustful sideways glances as every other Japanese-American in the U.S.  It's not long before suspicion turns into paranoia.  The Takedas, along with many of their friends and neighbors, are rounded up and forced into an internment camp.  With her father recently dead, 14-year-old Lucy and her mother have to fend for themselves in a place that is fraught with danger, corruption, and desperation.  Lucy's mom will do whatever she has to in order to keep herself and her daughter safe—including unspeakable acts that will have long-reaching consequences for them both.

Decades later, a murder in San Francisco leads police to Lucy.  As the investigation heats up, Lucy tells the harrowing, heartbreaking story of what really happened in Manzanar to her own daughter in an effort to clear her name and unburden her soul.

Garden of Stones by Sophie Littlefield is a thought-provoking story set during a shameful period of America's past.  I thought it would be more of a mystery than a historical drama—it's both, but with a heavier emphasis on the latter.  Littlefield's descriptions of life inside Manzanar are heartbreaking and barely believable, although they're based on indignities suffered in real life by real Americans.  Obviously, a story set in an internment camp during World War II is not going to be a happy one.  Garden of Stones is, not surprisingly, sad and depressing, a tale full of despairing people struggling through awful situations.  It is, however, also interesting and compelling.  The middle sags and the ending leaves some annoying loose ends, so overall, I didn't love this book.  It held my interest, though, and I liked it well enough to finish the novel and think about it quite a bit afterward.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other novels about the internment of Japanese-Americans during World War II, such as The Last Year of the War by Susan Meissner, Within These Lines by Stephanie Morrill, Paper Wishes by Lois Sepahban, Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers by Sara Ackerman, and Red Sky Over Hawaii by Sara Ackerman)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a couple F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, mild sexual content, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a digital copy of Garden of Stones with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

8 comments:

  1. It's the history and the setting of this one that intrigues me. My mom went to school with a Japanese girl whose family ended up having to go to one of those camps. So crazy to think about.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love the cover but, I'm not sure this one is for me.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This is definitely one I want to read. Some of the most memorable novels I've read in recent years about WWII had Japanese internment camp settings. It's still hard for me to believe how badly these people were treated during the war and how so poorly compensated they were after the war.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I think most Americans know too little about Japanese internment so this one sounds like a good one to get out there.

    ReplyDelete
  5. So much in history is so unpalatable but heart breakingly true.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I think I had this book at some point to read, but I don't think I ever did.

    ReplyDelete
  7. This sounds like a good read but so disturbing at the same time. Definitely a compelling read.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I will look for this book. I haven't read anything in depth on the subject, fiction or nonfiction and I would find it interesting. I have some books in the Stella Hardesty mystery series (unread as of yet).

    I will also check out the other books on the subject that you listed. Thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin