Wednesday, September 02, 2020

Newest Bolton Thriller Sweeps Me Clean Away

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Felicity "Flick" Lloyd is a 28-year-old glaciologist happily ensconced on the remote Antarctic island of South Georgia.  When the last boat of the season leaves, she always breathes a sigh of relief.  She's safe—at least temporarily—from her murderous ex-husband.

Flick isn't as secure as she thinks.  Unbeknownst to her, a man disembarked from the boat and now he's searching for her with dogged determination.  Despite the hostile landscape, he is closing in on Flick.  How will she survive alone in the empty, treacherous wilderness with worsening weather and a target on her back?

The Split, the newest thriller from Sharon Bolton, revolves around a simple premise.  Too simple.  It's Bolton, the queen of I-didn't-see-that-coming plot twists, so you know there's more to this tale than meets the eye!  I've read all of Bolton's books, so I wasn't blindsided by every swerve in the story, but The Split still kept me guessing and speeding through the pages.  I read the book in almost one sitting because I literally could not look away from it.  From its unique, chilling setting to its complex, intriguing characters to its tense, propulsive plot, this novel just plain swept me away.  It may, in fact, have unseated Little Black Lies as my favorite Bolton book.  Needless to say, I loved it.

(Readalikes:  Um, I can't think of anything.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, disturbing subject matter, and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Split from the generous folks at Minotaur Books (a division of St. Martin's Publishing Group/Macmillan) in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

9 comments:

  1. Okay, your review makes me want to read this one even more than I already did! I really like Bolton's books. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me, too! This one is unique in setting and story, but it's got Bolton's signature tense, twisty plotting. I hope you enjoy it when you read it!

      Delete
  2. The Antarctica is bleak enough and the setting and story is both interesting. Thanks for the review.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's a VERY bleak setting. If you Google images of South Georgia Island, you can really get a feel for how remote and bleak it is.

      Delete
  3. I usually enjoy remote locations like this for book settings. I've never read one with this setting before so that interests me!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Same. Especially in a mystery/thriller, an extreme location justs adds to the tension and suspense.

      Delete
  4. I love her books too. And your review means that I need to read this one before long. Plus it fits my 'cold reads in summer' criteria. Because it's still summer here...sadly. LOL

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's definitely a cold-weather book. Unfortunately, we're in the same boat as you. Still SO hot. We usually have lots of monsoon storms to clean the air and cool things down a little bit, but they've been few and far between this summer :(

      Delete
  5. I've never read this author, but this one sounds good. Creepy, but good.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin