Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 50 books. 48% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


65 / 104 books. 63% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 52 books. 85% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


71 / 165 books. 43% done!
Thursday, December 26, 2019

Simple, But Intriguing Premise Leads to Compelling, Poignant Novel

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

With less than two weeks left of probation after writing a bad check at the grocery store, freedom is in sight for 25-year-old Bernadette "Bird" Connolly.  If she can keep her nose clean for thirteen more days, she'll finally be able to move on.  She can't wait to leave her mother's house and make an independent life for herself and her 4-year-old son, Angus.  Everything will be better in just thirteen short days.

In the meantime, Bird is shocked to learn that James Rittenhouse, an old co-worker of hers, is on the run from the police.  According to the news, he beat up a man in a bar, then escaped a police vehicle while being taken to the station.  Armed with a gun stolen from one of the officers, James is considered very dangerous.  The James Bird once knew could never have done such a thing.  In fact, he once did her a big favor, one for which she is still in his debt.  Her heart breaks a little for him, but there's nothing she can do to help the fugitive.

Then, Bird makes a shocking discovery—James is hiding in the abandoned choir loft of the church Bird's mother attends.  Wounded and in pain, he begs Bird to help him.  Aiding James puts her impending freedom at great risk, but she can't walk away while he bleeds out in the church.  Can she?  She can't turn him in, not after what he did for her.  But what does she really owe him?  What should she do?  With the clock ticking for both Bird and James, Bird must make an impossible choice ...

The premise of The Odds of You and Me by Cecilia Galante is what drew me to this book.  It asks such a simple, but intriguing question, one which pricks the reader's conscience by asking, "What would you do?"  I don't know that I would have made the decision Bird does in the book, but her actions sure make for a compelling novel.  Bird is a sympathetic heroine, one who's easy to empathize with and root for.  She's flawed, but she's also compassionate, brave, and devoted to her son.  I definitely wanted a happy ending for her.  Did I get it?  I won't spoil anything for you.  I can say, though, that I enjoyed this novel.  Even though the story didn't close in quite the way I wanted it to, the tale still felt satisfying overall.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, sexual content, and depictions of illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

3 comments:

  1. Nice review, thanks for sharing your thoughts

    ReplyDelete
  2. I appreciate your ratings on your reviews. I would have requested this from the library until I saw the moving rating due to language and sexual content.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I like the premise for this one, too. The question of what would I have done? is compelling.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive