Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (9)
- Colorado (3)
- Connecticut (2)
- Delaware
- Florida (3)
- Georgia (3)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (1)
- Illinois (3)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (2)
- Maine (2)
- Maryland (3)
- Massachusetts (6)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (2)
- Mississippi (2)
- Missouri (1)
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (2)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (11)
- North Carolina (5)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (4)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (1)
- Pennsylvania (3)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota (1)
- Tennessee (2)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (3)
- Vermont (3)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming (1)
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (3)
Egypt (2)
England (16)
France (1)
Greece (1)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Malaysia (1)
Nepal (1)
Poland (1)
Portugal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


43 / 51 states. 84% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


66 / 53 books. 125% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


46 / 52 books. 88% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 50 words. 82% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


47 / 52 books. 90% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 40 books. 100% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Thursday, December 26, 2019

Poignant Sisters Novel a Decent Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Thirty years ago, a struggling young mother was arrested and sent to jail.  She had no choice but to surrender both of her girls—4-year-old Brooke and 6-month-old Natalie—to the state.  Believing they would be kept together, Jennifer Walker served her time knowing—hoping—that her daughters would have a better life without her.

Raised by an adoptive family, Natalie, now 35, is happily married with two children of her own.  She runs a small catering business out of her home.  Growing up in foster care took its toll on Brooke.  At 39, she's a cocktail waitress whose only significant relationship is with a married man.  The sisters haven't seen each other since they were separated from each other as children; until very recently, in fact, Natalie had no idea Brooke existed.  Now that she does know, she can't stop herself from reaching out.  After that?  Natalie wants them both to seek out their birth mother.  What happens when the two women finally meet?  Will Brooke help Natalie find Jennifer?  What will happen if they do?

Somewhere Out There by Amy Hatvany is a poignant, compelling story about two women's journeys to reacquaint themselves with each other and, ultimately, rediscover themselves.  While there's nothing really original or memorable about them as characters or about their story, the novel is still engrossing.  I can't say I loved it, but overall, it made for a decent read.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me a little of Far From the Tree by Robin Benway)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, sexual content, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

0 bookworm(s) said...:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive