Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (3)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


23 / 100 books. 23% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


61 / 165 books. 37% done!
Sunday, December 02, 2018

Quick, Informative Guide Helps Church Members Find Family Names for the Temple

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

If there's one thing members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints are known for (besides not drinking coffee), it's their love of genealogy/family history.  The Church has long encouraged and supported its people in exploring their roots, seeking out their dead, and performing eternal ordinances by proxy for their deceased family members in its temples.  To help in this effort, the Church created FamilySearch.org, a family tree-building website that houses a massive database of records and other information to help people create complete and accurate trees.  The site is collaborative, user friendly, and totally free for all users (although only Church members can access the site's temple features).  If you are interested in family history, it's a website you simply must check out.  You will likely be stunned by the amount of information about your ancestors already in the database.  FamilySearch really is incredible.

Because of the Church's long emphasis on the importance of doing family history, one of members' biggest frustrations is not being able to find ancestors whose temple work has not already been done.  It can be difficult to comb through all the different branches and generations of one's family, which is why apps like Take a Name (or FamilySearch's Ordinance Ready feature, which can be found under the "Temple" tab) have been created.  These are useful shortcuts, but it's also important to learn how to build and search your family tree properly and thoroughly.  
To help people do just that, Nicole Dyer and Diana Elder—the genealogists behind Family Locket—wrote Find Names for the Temple: A Step-by-Step Method for Success.  I'm not going to lie, their approach is methodical, even tedious.  However, it is very thorough.  By following their instructions, you can ensure the information you put into your tree as well as the information you get out of it (including finding names for the temple) is both complete and accurate.  Although the effort might seem exhaustive at the outset, you will be saving yourself time and frustration in the long-run.  Find Names for the Temple is aimed at beginners, but it does assume a bit of familiarity with FamilySearch.  It also focuses mostly on finding names, so it's not a comprehensive guide on how to use the website (never fear, though—FamilySearch offers excellent tutorials as well as 24/7 customer support).  Dyer and Elder are experienced, passionate genealogists and that enthusiasm shows in this quick, easy-to-read guide.  If you're having trouble finding names for the temple, whether you're a beginner or a seasoned researcher, definitely check out this book (as well as the Family Locket website).  I've been working on my family history for years and I still learned a lot from this very helpful volume.

(Readalikes:  I've never really read a family history guide before, so I'm not sure what to compare this one to.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Find Names for the Temple from its very generous authors in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

0 bookworm(s) said...:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive