Friday, September 21, 2018

Light, Funny MG Story Not Without a Lesson or Two

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Living like a pioneer is not quite what 13-year-old Genevieve Welsh had in mind for her summer break.  Trudging around the prairie in a long dress (and petticoats!), growing her own food, slaving away at chores that can easily be done by machine, living with her family in a tiny, rustic cabin—nothing about Frontier Family History Camp sounds like a vacation at all.  What are her parents thinking?  Living without modern distractions might bring her family closer, but it's also going to make Gen completely insane.

Camp isn't completely awful, especially considering there's a cute boy to practice her flirting skills on.  Still, Gen finds plenty of drama to rant about in the texts she sends to her friends on the forbidden cell phone she snuck into camp.  When Gen's pals turn her messages into a blog and that blog goes viral, attracting national media attention to her plight in the Wyoming wilderness, Gen starts to wonder just what she's done.  Has she managed to ruin what's turning out to be the best worst summer she's ever experienced?

Little Blog on the Prairie, a middle grade novel by Cathleen Davitt Bell, tells a cute, uplifting story about learning to appreciate the simpler things in life.  It's an easy read that's funny, upbeat, and entertaining, albeit totally predictable.  While it feels contrived and far-fetched at times, it's still a fast, fun read that will appeal to anyone looking for a light, laugh-filled story that's not without a lesson or two.  I enjoyed it.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:  


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scary images

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

12 comments:

  1. This book seems like it would appeal to middle grade students. They can all relate to being made to do something or go somewhere they don't want. But how many could admit it isn't as bad as they expected :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Exactly! Especially putting away all your electronics for the summer. Kids would think it was torture, but imagine how good it would be for them -- and us!

      Delete
  2. This one does sound predictable but also very cute.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, you know from the outset that Gen is going to learn to appreciate her family, a simpler life, etc. Her journey to that place is fun, though.

      Delete
  3. This sounds adorable. I know I would love. I am all about the fun, cute, and heartwarming. And I am also all about the little things.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm almost certain that I read this one a few years ago and liked it a lot. If not, I need to try it. Sounds fun!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was published in 2011, so that's entirely possible!

      Delete
  5. This sounds kind of fun. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's quick and easy. Hardly mind-blowing, but just a fun read.

      Delete
  6. Alden is going on trek in 8 days and is not excited because of his bad attitude. Sounds like we need this book pronto! Do you think a 14yo boy would enjoy? He does like to read.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Bwahahaha! Poor Alden :( He might think the book is a little girly, but it definitely teaches some good lessons. It would probably make him grateful that trek is only a few days, not a whole summer!

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin