Monday, April 16, 2018

Short and Satisfying, Jennifer Moore's Newest Another An Enjoyable Read (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

With her father and brothers away at war, it's up to Abigail Tidwell to tend to the family's isolated homestead.  Although she's more than capable of doing that and using the skills she's learned under her father's tutelage to help with doctoring needs in her small Ontario town, that doesn't mean she can't grumble about it.  Those cursed Americans.  If it weren't for them, peace would reign and life in Canada would return to blessed normality. 

As if conjured by her curses, Abigail discovers a U.S. soldier unconscious in her barn.  With an arrow stuck in his side, the bloodied man surely won't last the night.  As angry as she feels toward the Americans, Abigail knows she can't let him die.  She's a healer first.  If she manages to save the enemy soldier, then she'll do her civic duty and turn him in at nearby Fort Malden.

When Captain Emmett Prescott wakes up in a stranger's barn, he's shocked to find himself in the care of a beautiful woman doctor.  As much as he's drawn to her, however, he needs to escape and track down his men.  When he's informed that the youngest of his men is gravely ill and on the run, Emmett will do whatever it takes to save all of their lives—including forcing an enemy doctor to help.  

On opposite sides of a senseless, brutal war, both Abigail and Emmett will have to rely on the enemy if they have any hope of surviving.  

I always like Jennifer Moore's quick, entertaining historical romances and her newest, My Dearest Enemy, is no exception.  Since I've never read a book set during the War of 1812, the unique setting immediately drew me into the story.  The characters are less original, but they're sympathetic and likable, which made me root for their success and happiness.  Plot wise, the tale moves along at a clip with very little wasted action, ensuring the reader will want to keep turning pages.  At just under 200 pages, My Dearest Enemy is a fast, easy read that's clean, entertaining, and satisfying.  It's not terribly memorable or amazing, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.  

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other books by Jennifer Moore.  Also of historical romances by Sarah Eden and Josi Kilpack.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence, blood/gore, and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of My Dearest Enemy from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!
--

Would you like more opinions on My Dearest Enemy?  Click on the links below to follow along on the book's blog tour:


Would you like a copy of My Dearest Enemy for your very own?  How about a $25 Amazon gift card?  Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter to win both:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

3 comments:

  1. Sounds like, you said, a cute but unmemorable story. At least it’s short.

    ReplyDelete
  2. sometimes short and sweet is just what you need. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I saw this on another blog and it caught my interest immediately. I love the setting and the books' premise.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin