Tuesday, February 06, 2018

Retribution Rails a Fun, Action-Packed Yarn

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Note:  Although this review will not contain spoilers for Retribution Rails, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from its companion novel, Vengeance Road.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.

When aspiring journalist Charlotte Vaughn boards a train bound for Tucson, she does so with a determination to make her way as a reporter.  If the 16-year-old can earn money for herself, she can save her mother from a disastrous marriage, keep her family's mine, and make sure she doesn't become a pawn in a crooked scheme cooked up by her greedy uncle.  The last thing Charlotte expects from her train ride is to find herself in the middle of a breaking story.  But that's what happens when a gang of outlaws robs the very locomotive on which she's riding. 

Furious with the Rose Riders—especially the young, handsome one—Charlotte vows to use her keen observation skills to bring the criminals to justice.  That prospect proves more difficult than it seems, especially when she finds herself held hostage by Reece Murphy, an 18-year-old Rose Rider who claims to be on the run from his outlaw pals.  Charlotte doesn't believe that tall tale for a second—still, she could use a ride to Prescott and that's where Reece is heading.  The two might not trust each other, but they do need each other.  Forming an uneasy truce just may be the only way for both of them to get what they want.  With enemies closing in from every direction, they'll have to rely on each other—whether they like it or not.    

If you loved Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman (and I certainly did), you're going to adore Retribution Rails.  While it's not exactly a sequel, the novel revisits the Wild West setting of its predecessor as well as some of its characters.  Charlotte and Reece, the stars of Retribution Rails, are appealing in their own rights—both are sympathetic, brave, and loyal.  Their story brims with action, making for a tense, exciting reading experience.  With a vivid historical setting, an intriguing cast, and an action-packed plot, Retribution Rails offers a fun, enjoyable tale that makes a perfect companion for Vengeance Road.  Give this series a read—you won't regret it.

(Readalikes:  Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman; also reminds me of Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for mild language (no F-bombs), violence, and vague references to rape and prostitution

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Retribution Rails from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

3 comments:

  1. I own the first book. Now if I could just get to it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Glad to hear it continues nicely! :D

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm not sure how I'd do with a "wild west" book, but this sounds like fun.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin