Search This Blog

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois (3)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (3)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (5)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (5)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


21 / 51 states. 41% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


32 / 52 books. 62% done!
Monday, January 22, 2018

Thrilling Tomorrow Series Keeps Up the Action, Adventure With Third Installment

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for A Killing Frost, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier Tomorrow, When the War Began books.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Six months have passed since a group of teens emerged from a camping trip in the bush to find their world changed overnight.  Not only has their small town been taken over by an unknown enemy, but so has all of Australia.  By keeping out of sight, Ellie and her friends have been able to fight back in small—and not so small—ways.  They've experienced both triumph and tragedy, but they've yet to drive away the forces that are keeping their town captive.  It's time to take more extreme measures, which means putting themselves at even greater risk.  Will their efforts pay off?  Or will they end up prisoners of a seemingly unstoppable enemy?

I've enjoyed all the books I've read so far in John Marsden's excellent Tomorrow, When the War Began series.  A Killing Frost, the third installment, is no exception.  The novels are full of action, adventure, humor, romance, and intrigue.  Ellie remains a likable, relatable heroine.  Although she's tough and brave, she's also vulnerable and human.  It's easy to root for her and her friends to triumph over evil.  The installments in this series are short, making them quick reads that will appeal to reluctant readers as well as those who enjoy fast-paced survival stories.  I'm a fan and can't wait to dig in to the next book in the series.

(Readalikes:  Other books in the series, including Tomorrow, When the War Began; The Dead of the Night; Darkness, Be My Friend; Burning for Revenge; The Night is for Hunting; and The Other Side of Dawn)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of A Killing Frost from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

2 comments:

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
How It Ends by Saskia Sarginson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Dead Wake by Erik Larson



Followin' by Email


Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive