Thursday, July 21, 2016

YA Mystery a Chilling Story of Survival, Hope

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Scarlett Contreras has always loved Skywoman, a dazzling comic book superhero who uses her powers to protect the people of Silver City from evil villains.  It was the image of her heroine swooping in to save the world from a deadly meteor crash that Scarlett kept in her mind to give her courage during the years-long abduction that changed her young life irrevocably.  It's what helped her take advantage of a rare opportunity to escape.  It's what led her back home to her father and her younger siblings.  

Still overwhelmed by the ability to make decisions for herself, Scarlett is nevertheless determined to live a normal life.  Getting a job at Five Banners Adventure World, an amusement park based on the Skywoman stories, feels like something an average teen would do.  Her first day on the job, Scarlett hears the shocking news—a teenage girl has vanished from the park without a trace.  Scarlett can't shake the terrifying feeling that the disappearance is her fault.  When a co-worker starts acting strangely around her, saying things that seem like echoes from the time Scarlett is trying so hard to forget, her sense of foreboding heightens.  Is Scarlett being paranoid?  Or have the ghosts of her past come back to haunt her?  

When I read the premise for Never Missing, Never Found—a new YA novel by Amanda Panitch—I knew I wanted to read it.  Unlike romance, dystopian, and sci fi/fantasy, mystery/suspense is not a popular genre in the YA world.  This alone made the book appealing to me.  So, when the good folks at Penguin Random House asked me to be part of the Never Missing, Never Found blog tour, I happily agreed.  What did I think of the novel?  It's a fast, compelling read.  The carnival setting gives it an otherworldly, spooky vibe that adds to the tension of the story.  Scarlett and her cohorts are likable enough, although not terribly memorable.  The writing gets melodramatic at times and the story, which is ultimately about hope, feels pretty depressing.  Although I saw the novel's big twist coming, the plot kept me turning pages.  Overall, I didn't enjoy Never Missing, Never Found as much as I wanted to—still, it made for an exciting read.  I liked it, just didn't love it.  

(Readalikes: Reminded me a little of Now You See Me by Sharon [S.J.] Bolton)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), violence, depictions of underage drinking, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Never Missing, Never Found from the generous folks at Penguin Random House.  Thank you!

6 comments:

  1. This sounds good! Adding it to the tbr. Like you I've recently found some actual thrillers coming out in the YA world and am thrilled; hoping it will be the new trend.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I have been seeing mostly positive reviews for this so I am interested. I love a carnival setting too!! Glad you still found it interesting even though you figured out the twist. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I like these YA thrillers coming out. Now I just need to read some. But maybe not this one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've run into several books like that lately: liked them, but didn't love them. At least you didn't hate it (or didn't finish it). I like thrillers, and it sounds like this one reads fast, so I might give it a try and see if I end up "liking" it, too. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. It never occurred to me that there's not a lot of mysteries floating around the YA section at the bookstore, but now that you mention it, it's so true!

    This one sounds unique and excellent. I'll be adding it to my wish list!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I kept seeing that book from Netgalley before, I just hadn't got the chance to request to review it. I don't usually read other YA genre aside from contemporary and romance. So reading a ya thriller is a bit of a fresh air, if you know what I mean.

    I'm glad you liked the book. I'll be adding it to my TBR, your review got me interested. thanks!

    My recent book review: Unlocked by Margo Kelly

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin