Thursday, December 07, 2017

Simple, No-Fuss Recipes and Ideas Make Newest Six Sisters' Stuff Cookbook a Must for Every Season (with a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Although I get most of my recipes online these days, I still love flipping through old-school print cookbooks.  It's fun to explore the culinary possibilities inside their pages, marvel at the drool-worthy food photos, and imagine the ooohhs and aaahhs such delights are certain to elicit.  Who cares if I never actually make any of the recipes?  It's a joy just to think about making them!

I've long been a fan of Six Sisters' Stuff, a website run by—you guessed it—six sisters.  These LDS ladies offer recipes, craft ideas, home decor ideas, etc. that are easy, down-to-Earth, and family-friendly.  I appreciate their no-fuss recipes, especially, because they feature common ingredients that are probably already in your pantry.  The recipes come with clear instructions and glossy photographs.  Bonus: the ones I've tried have been delicious.

Celebrate Every Season, the sisters' newest cookbook, is another fun one.  As its title suggests, the collection is organized by month and focuses on traditional U.S. holiday/seasonal cuisine.  There's a variety of offerings, including snacks, desserts, non-alcoholic drinks, appetizers, etc.  At the end of each month/chapter is a section called "Traditions," which gives additional suggestions for fun ways to celebrate the season.  These include craft/gift ideas, recipes (food and non-food), party tips, and more.  I haven't had the time to try any of the recipes yet, but I've definitely got my eye on some (I'm looking at you, Christmas Tree Brownies!).  

If you haven't quite gotten the picture yet, let me just lay it out for you:  This is a thick, beautiful cookbook that's bursting with awesome.  You definitely want to snag yourself a copy.  It would also make a lovely Christmas or birthday gift for any home cook who digs simple, tasty meals.  What a grand coincidence!  It just so happens that I have an extra copy to give away, courtesy of the lovelies at Shadow Mountain.  I'm even willing to brave the post office in December to get it to the winner by Christmas, so be sure to enter the contest.  See the Rafflecopter below for details. 

(Readalikes:  The Six Sisters have published five other cookbooks, all of which should be available wherever books are sold.  Also, be sure to subscribe to their website for lots of free recipes and more.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received two finished copies (one to keep, one to give away) of Celebrate Every Season from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain.  Thank you!

--

Want to win a gorgeous copy of Celebrate Every Season for your very own?  Use the widget below to enter.  Giveaway is open to readers with U.S. and Canadian mailing addresses only.  Contest ends December 18, 2017.  Book will be mailed December 19, 2017—in plenty of time for Christmas giving 😀 


a Rafflecopter giveaway

6 comments:

  1. I do enjoy large, glossy pictures in real cookbooks. Those brownies look good.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I make laktes and apple cake during the holidays.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I collect cookbooks. They speak to my soul. Maybe it’s the beautiful pictures of food (I love to cook and EAT!)
    I am a HUGE fan of the Six Sisters Stuff! HUGE! I have one of their earlier cookbooks. They were giving it away free with a Deseret Book Platinum Membership - I signed up JUST for the cookbook! Ha!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I like the Six Sisters' Cookbooks...probably because none of their recipes are too intimidating or hard to make. :D

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've seen some of the Six Sisters recipes online and they look great. I have a fancy jello dish that I make for Christmas dinner that we ate while I was growing up so it's actually my mother's recipe. Everyone loves it! Thanks for the giveaway, Susan!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I also enjoy reading through cookbooks and getting ideas for new recipes. Thanks!! Pam

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin