Saturday, September 16, 2017

Middle Grade Ghost Story More Cute Than Creepy

(Image from Barnes & Noble

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlThere's only one thing 12-year-old Tiffany Hart wants—to be president of her 7th grade class.  She's well on her way to achieving that goal when the unthinkable happens.  After almost dying in an abandoned slaughterhouse, she develops the ability to see ghosts.  This unexpected "gift" is so not what she needs right now.  If her classmates find out what a complete freak she is, there's no way they will elect her president.  Cue a shattered heart and crushed dreams.  Tiffany is not going to let that happen to herself.  No way, no how.

With no one she can really talk to about her sudden supernatural ability, Tiffany is forced to rely on the person with whom she least wants to associate.  Justin Henderson has been claiming to see spirits since he was nine, meaning he's been a total outcast for three long years.  With her dream of being class president on the line, Tiffany can't afford to be seen with Justin, but who else can understand what she's going through?  No one.

Against all odds, the unlikely pair teams up to solve a puzzling, ghoulish mystery.  With plenty of lives—and afterlives—on the line, they must work together to banish the evil presence that haunts their small town.  Can they defeat a powerful, vengeful spirit?  Can they save themselves and their home?  More importantly, will Tiffany ever fulfill her dream of becoming class president?  

whitneyawards.comGhostsitter by Shelly Brown is a fun middle grade read perfect for Halloween consumption.  With plenty of action to keep kids turning pages, it's an exciting story that's more cute than creepy.  The characters are likable, the plot's exciting, and the overall vibe is hopeful and upbeat.  Poor copy editing definitely marred my enjoyment of the book, as did out-of-date cultural references (What 12-year-old knows who Betty White is?).  Kids might be put off by that as well as the juvenile book jacket.  Overall, though, this is an entertaining, easy read that will definitely appeal to ghost-loving middle graders.  Despite the irritants I mentioned, I'd still recommend Ghostsitter to interested readers.

(Readalikes:  Apparently I don't read a lot of middle grade ghost stories because nothing is coming to mind.  Suggestions?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for scary images

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished e-copy of Ghostsitter for contest judging purposes from the generous folks at Future House Publishing via those on the Whitney Awards Committee.  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. I think it sounds cute. The copy edit thing would annoy me though.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin