Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (7)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (12)
Greece (1)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 53 books. 92% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Monday, January 09, 2017

Goats and Sheep A Sharp, But Nuanced Mystery About the Contradictions That Lurk Inside Us All

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

The vicar promised his community that if they found God, no one would be lost.  So, why is Margaret Creasey missing?  Where has the friendly, well-liked woman gone?  Grace Bennett and Tilly Albert, both ten, are concerned with Mrs. Creasey's sudden disappearance.  If they find God, like the vicar instructed, will they also find Margaret?  The girls embark on a quest to locate both.  

As Grace and Tilly visit all the houses on their street, they learn a great deal about the people who inhabit them.  All of them—it seems—harbor secrets, secrets they shared with Mrs. Creasey.  Has the woman disappeared because of something she knew?  Everyone thinks creepy Walter Bishop killed her.  Did he?  Or is someone else to blame?  As a relentless summer heat wave turns ordinary people into cantankerous monsters, Grace and Tilly are determined to solve a very puzzling mystery.  

The Trouble with Goats and Sheep, a debut novel by English psychiatrist Joanna Cannon, is a funny, moving novel about hypocrisy, judgment and perception vs. reality.  Sharp, but nuanced, it's a thoughtful story that will leave readers examining their own lives for the contradictions that lurk within us all.  The fact that it's narrated by children makes the tale even more poignant.  I picked up The Trouble with Goats and Sheep on a whim and was surprised by how much I enjoyed it.  I'll definitely be keeping an eye this author—I can't wait to see what she does next! 

(Readalikes:  Reminds me a bit of Whistling in the Dark and Good Graces by Lesley Kagen)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a few F-bombs, plus milder expletives) and violence

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

1 comment:

  1. Now this sounds good! I can see how perfect a story like this is told from a kids perspective.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive