Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 50 books. 48% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


65 / 104 books. 63% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 52 books. 85% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


71 / 165 books. 43% done!
Thursday, January 19, 2017

Clean, Compelling Adventure an Exciting Start to a Golden YA Series

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

"When there's gold to be had, you can't trust anyone.  Not a single soul" (15%).

Like a dowser is drawn to water, Leah Westfall can sense gold.  It's a handy skill to have.  And a dangerous one.  Although her peculiar magic helped the Westfalls buy their large Georgia homestead, Leah has to keep her abilities secret.  If no one knows what the 15-year-old can do, no one can exploit her.  

Then, Leah's parents are brutally murdered, their home ransacked.  It's obvious that someone knows about the Westfalls' secret stash of gold.  But who?  When Leah's oily Uncle Hiram conveniently appears on the scene, Leah can't contain her disgust.  She can't prove he's responsible for her parents' death, but that doesn't make it any less true.  With Hiram as her guardian, Leah knows she'll never be free.  She refuses to become his gold-finding pet.  

Disguising herself as a boy, "Lee" takes off for sunny California, where she hopes to blend in with other prospectors hunting their fortunes.  In a place where gold lust prevails, she should be able to camouflage her secret skill sufficiently.  Leah's best friend, Jefferson McCauley, is somewhere along the trail; she prays that, somehow, fate will allow them to meet up again.  In the meantime, she must fend for herself on a long, hard journey filled with dangers of every kind.  With Hiram hot on her tail, it's a desperate run for her life.  Can she escape her uncle's greedy clutches?  Will she make it to California unscathed?  And what of Jefferson?  Can she find the boy who's always loved her in the vast wilderness of an untamed land?  Anything can happen on the long, perilous trek—especially to a girl with a priceless, golden gift.

I love books like Walk on Earth a Stranger, the first novel in Rae Carson's Gold Seer Trilogy.  Starring a brave, hard-working heroine, it's a story brimming over with action, adventure, romance and, most important of all, heart.  Who cares if it's not the most original tale in the world?  I loved it from start to finish.  The story is engaging, the characters endearing (with a few exceptions), the historical details intriguing.  It's an excellent novel that will appeal to teens and adults, while being clean enough to hand to tweens.  Did I mention that I adored it?  Well, I did.

(Readalikes:  Like a River Glorious and Into the Bright Unknown (coming October 2017) by Rae Carson; also reminded me of Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee and Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), violence, blood/gore, and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Walk On Earth a Stranger from the generous folks at HarperCollins via those at Edelweiss.  Thank you!

2 comments:

  1. I've known about this one for awhile but can't remember if it's on my tbr list. At some point I may have passed on it. But you're making me rethink that. I guess I'll go see if it's still on my tbr.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive