Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


27 / 51 states. 53% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 50 books. 44% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


26 / 40 books. 65% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


25 / 100 books. 25% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


63 / 104 books. 61% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


43 / 52 books. 83% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


68 / 165 books. 41% done!
Saturday, February 06, 2016

Haunting Minnow Bly Ultimately A Story About Hope

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

For the last twelve years of her life, 17-year-old Minnow Bly has lived in the Montana wilderness with 100 or so other members of a polygamous cult led by Kevin, their Prophet.  Kevinians live by strict rules—no music, no outsiders, no reading for girls, etc.—all of which are violently enforced.  No one is more aware of this than Minnow, whose hands were chopped off as a punishment for disobeying her leader.  

Hiding a secret that could get her killed, the teen knows she has to leave the Community to save her own life.  A fire at the commune offers a perfect escape, especially since the Prophet lies dead in its wake.  But, a scared, handless girl wandering around Missoula alone is bound to attract attention.  Soon, Minnow finds herself imprisoned in a juvenile detention center for assaulting a stranger.  She's offered leniency in exchange for telling the FBI what she knows about Kevin's death, but Minnow refuses to bite.  She'd rather rot in juvie than spill her secrets.  

The more time Minnow spends at the center under the tutelage of her world-wise cellmate, Angel, the more her world expands.  Allowed to study and think for herself for the first time in her life, Minnow begins to realize how much the world has to offer.  The more alluring freedom becomes, the more tempted she is to reveal what she knows.  But can she risk confiding in the FBI?  Or will that be the end of everything for her and everyone she loves?

As you can tell from the plot summary, The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes, is not a light, frothy read.  Not at all.  It's a bleak, heart-wrenching story about the dangers of religious fanaticism and blind faith, and the capacity of human beings to commit acts of both great cruelty and great kindness.  Above all, it's about a young woman discovering her own surprising potential.  Grim though it may be, in the end, The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is a novel about hope.  Haunting and heartbreaking, it's also a taut, compelling page turner that will stick with you long after you turn the last page.  If you're looking for a discussion-worthy pick for your next book club read, you may have just found a worthy contender.  I can't say I loved this book, but it definitely kept me reading and thinking.  

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language and violence

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

1 comment:

  1. These kinds of stories make me so mad! I don't know if I could handle it. It would make a good discussion book though.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive