Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


33.2 / 26.2 miles. 127% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


56 / 104 books. 54% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


57 / 165 books. 35% done!
Saturday, August 15, 2015

Don't Say I Didn't Warn You ...

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  Although this review will not contain spoilers for Wayward, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from its predecessor, Pines.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Ethan Burke, a former Secret Service agent from Seattle, now knows the truth about Wayward Pines, Idaho.  He knows what's hiding behind its quaint facade.  He knows what lurks beyond the razor-topped electrified fence that circles the village.  He knows the 461 people living in the town may be the only humans left on the planet and that those people, himself included, are being watched every second of every day.  He's seen what happens to residents who rebel, or complain, or simply can't conform.  David Pilcher, the megalomaniac in charge of Wayward Pines, will do anything—anything—to preserve the dream he's fulfilling with his post-apocalyptic version of Mayberry.

Few are brave enough to break the rules.  Even Ethan, now the town sheriff, worries about the repercussions of standing up to Pilcher.  Still, he can't stand the lie he's being forced to live.  Torn between protecting the people he cares for and fighting for the freedom they all deserve, Ethan will have to make some life-or-death decisions.  The fates of 461 people hanging in the balance.   

Wayward, the second thriller in Blake Crouch's exciting Wayward Pines trilogy, is not quite as mind-blowing as the series opener.  Still, the novel draws the reader in just as quickly as its predecessor and keeps the suspense going until the very last sentence of its very last page.  The story moves quickly, with lots of thrills and chills, making it pretty much impossible to put Wayward down.  Literally.  Although I didn't find it as jaw-dropping as Pines, I still devoured it in one sitting.  After which I promptly started The Last Town.  Did I mention this series is *slightly* addicting?  Don't say I didn't warn you ... 

(Readalikes:  Pines and The Last Town by Blake Crouch)

Grade:


If this were a movie (and the trilogy has been turned into a mini-series on Fox), it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, and sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

2 comments:

  1. Wow! It wasn't as great and you still devoured it that fast? I need to read this series!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. WAYWARD just wasn't as intriguing because you already know what's going on in the town. PINES is more of a psychological thriller/puzzle that keeps you wondering what in the world is happening. Both are fast-paced, exciting reads that were impossible to put down. Read PINES first, though!

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive