Monday, May 05, 2014

Wexler v. Fishman—Another Exciting Battle in an Author War of Wits (With a Giveaway)

No, your eyes do not deceive you—yes, I am participating in a blog tour, even though I swore off them at the beginning of the year.  I know.  I'm such a flake!  Actually, this one just sounded too fun to pass up, especially since I had just finished The Forbidden Library, anyway.  

Also, I jumped at the chance to offer you a chance to win a copy of The Forbidden Library.  Everything you need to know to enter the contest is at the bottom of this post.

Oh, and this is the fourth stop in the tour.  To see the previous ones, click the links below:

PART ONE at Bookish
PART TWO at The Young Folks
PART THREE at Ticket to Anywhere

Enjoy!

----

 Welcome to THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY blog tour! In honor of Django Wexler’s new series, perfect for fans of CoralineInkheart, and The Books of Elsewhere, we’ve paired Django and fellow Penguin author Seth Fishman (The Well’s End) in a battle of wits! Each day for the next two weeks, Seth and Django will challenge each other to escape from popular story scenes in the most creative way. Follow along as the two try to outmatch each other and check out some cool interior art from THE FORBIDDEN LIBRARY along the way!

Seth to DjangoI can't help it, Alice has some tea, at a party, with one hatter... if she managed to get out of Through the Looking Glass, how would the Mad Hatter's power manifest?

I can't help but think that my Alice would be irritated by whimsy and irrationality of Wonderland.  Her namesake is a more "go with the flow" sort of person, who wanders from one spectacle to the next but never seems very interested in how things fit together.  My Alice is the sort of girl of investigates things, and asks questions, and generally picks apart whatever's in front of her.  She'd want to know where the Mad Hatter gets his tea from -- does he buy it at a shop somewhere? -- and where the food comes from for all the unbirthdays.  (Being practical, though, I think she'd be right behind the unbirthday concept.)

What would the Mad Hatter's power be?  Hard to say, he's mad after all!  I think it would be something to do with wordplay -- maybe the ability to think up baffling doggerel and puns on a moment's notice, or to run verbal rings around your opponents until they're utterly confused.  Very useful if Alice ever decided to become a lawyer!  The ability to use mirrors as portals would also be a pretty neat power to have, and a logical one to get out of Through the Looking Glass

The Forbidden Library Synopsis:

Alice always thought fairy tales had happy endings. That--along with everything else--changed the day she met her first fairy.

When Alice's father goes down in a shipwreck, she is sent to live with her uncle Geryon--an uncle she's never heard of and knows nothing about. He lives in an enormous manor with a massive library that is off-limits to Alice. But then she meets a talking cat. And even for a rule-follower, when a talking cat sneaks you into a forbidden library and introduces you to an arrogant boy who dares you to open a book, it's hard to resist. Especially if you're a reader to begin with. Soon Alice finds herself INSIDE the book, and the only way out is to defeat the creature imprisoned within.
It seems her uncle is more than he says he is. But then so is Alice.

About Django Wexler: Django Wexler is the author of The Thousand Names. He lives near Seattle, Washington.

The Well’s End Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Mia Kish's small town of Fenton, Colorado is known for three things: being home to the world's tallest sycamore tree, the national chicken-thigh-eating contest and one of the ritziest boarding schools in the country, Westbrook Academy. But when emergency sirens start blaring and Westbrook is put on lockdown, quarantined and surrounded by soldiers who shoot first and ask questions later, Mia realizes she's only just beginning to discover what makes Fenton special.

And the answer is behind the wall of the Cave, aka Fenton Electronics, of which her father is the Director. Mia's dad has always been secretive about his work, allowing only that he's working for the government. But unless Mia's willing to let the whole town succumb to a strange illness that ages people years in a matter of hours, the end result death, she's got to break quarantine, escape the school grounds and outsmart armed soldiers to uncover the truth. 

About Seth Fishman: Seth Fishman is a native of Midland, Texas (think Friday Night Lights), and a graduate of Princeton University and the University of East Anglia in Norwich, England.  He spends his days as a literary agent at The Gernert Company and his nights (and mornings) writing. He lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.  This is his first novel (that's not in a drawer). 

----

So fun!  Okay, here's the low-down on the giveaway: If you live in the U.S. or Canada and would like a chance to win your own copy of The Forbidden Library, all you need to do is comment on this post and tell me what your dream library would include (first editions of your favorite novels; a built-in coffee/cocoa bar; signed posters of your favorite authors; etc.).  Please also include your email address, so I have a way to contact you if you win.  You have until May 20th to enter.  

8 comments:

  1. My dream library would feature comfy chairs, each with its own dimmable reading light. So that, without getting up, I could have a bright light for reading, and turn it down for dreaming. Oh, and an endless rotation of interesting books, of course!
    teen26119 at mypacks dot net

    ReplyDelete
  2. My ideal library would be an extensive collection of fiction, couches that are warm and cozy. and neverending tea and scones available. saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wonderful giveaway and feature. My dream library would have the old school feel and atmosphere which I appreciate,easy chairs and sofas with back support, warm temperature, new books, foreign editions,tons of fiction and a coffee bar that specializes in lattes and yummies. elliotbencan(at)hotmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow - a dream library for me would include lots of windows with window seats. It would have all sorts of books, lots of posters showing people reading and best of all, a cafe/chocolate bar with big comfy seats.
    Can't wait to read the book - it looks great. dmiller@norwood(dot)k12(dot)ma(dot)us

    ReplyDelete
  5. I think my dream library would be a bit like the room of requirement. Always big enough. Can always find the book I am looking for.

    Also well stocked and maybe full of all the books my favorite authors will write on top of what they have written.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Obviously, a time turner so that I can have all the time I want to read all the books. Everything else would be optional.

    ReplyDelete
  7. my dream library would include a comfy couch and the books out of my mind, lions of little rock, because of mr. terupt, wonder and lots of other mddle school books. can't wait to read the forbidden library!

    ReplyDelete
  8. annsavd at gmail dot com is how u could get in touch with me.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin