Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


16 / 30 books. 53% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware (1)
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (2)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (2)
- Canada (2)
- England (12)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


38 / 51 states. 75% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 40 books. 75% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 25 books. 44% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 26.2 miles (2nd lap). 80% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


30 / 100 books. 30% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


75 / 104 books. 72% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


90 / 165 books. 55% done!
Friday, December 12, 2014

Creepy-Crawly Swamp Murder Mystery Entertaining and Compelling

         (Image from Barnes & Noble)

Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Swamp Bones, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier Tempe Brennan books.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.

When forensic anthropologist Tempe Brennan visits a friend in Florida, she expects to spend her vacation relaxing in the sun.  No such luck.  Almost as soon as she steps foot into The Sunshine State, she's drawn into a puzzling mystery.  Finding human remains inside a dead, 18-foot long Burmese python is a new one for Tempe, but "reading" bones is certainly not.  It's what she does, what she knows, where she excels.  Her diagnosis?  These bones come from a murdered human.  

The search for the victim's identity leads Tempe into the strange world of python hunting.  Each year, hundreds of wildlife wranglers flock to the Everglades for a 30-day, Fish and Wildlife-sanctioned snake hunt.  They track Burmese pythons, competing for prize money and bragging rights, while helping the state control the insidious, overpopulated species.  The question is:  Who was hunting more than snakes?  And why? Tempe is determined to find out who killed the poor woman whose remains she keeps finding inside the bellies of wild animals.  So much for a vacation.

I love Kathy Reichs' Tempe Brennan series, so it's no surprise that I enjoyed this one (in spite of the fact that it made my skin crawl).  As always with her books, I learned plenty of new things—not that I really wanted to know anything about giant snakes and other Everglades critters (yuck!), but still ... she took me inside a vivid, intriguing world that I never knew about before.  Tempe is, of course, an entertaining narrator.  Her brushes with the local yokels are comical, her adventures always suspenseful and exciting.  If you're a Tempe fan, you definitely don't want to miss out on her capers in the Everglades.  The e-novella is available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other books in the Tempe Brennan series, including Deja Dead; Death Du Jour; Deadly Decisions; Fatal Voyage; Grave Secrets; Bare Bones; Monday Mourning; Cross Bones; Break No Bones; Bones to Ashes; Devil Bones; 206 Bones; Spider Bones; Flash and Bones; Bones Are Forever; Bones in Her Pocket (e-novella); Bones of the Lost; and Bones Never Lie)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Swamp Bones from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

1 comment:

  1. I love this series too! Thanks for the review. I'll be getting my hands on this one soon!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Homecoming by Kate Morton

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Good Neighbor by Maxwell King



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive