Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- South Korea (1)

My Progress:


14 / 51 states. 27% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


5 / 25 books. 20% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


18 / 50 books. 36% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 52 books. 38% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


24 / 52 books. 46% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


8 / 40 books. 20% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


13 / 25 books. 52% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 109 books. 23% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Friday, May 09, 2014

Coincidence or Fate? East African Author Lets You Decide

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Coincidence, a novel by J.W. Ironmonger, an author who was born and raised in East Africa, tells one of those stories that's too difficult for me to describe on my own.  Luckily, a more skilled plot summary-er has already done the work for me:
On Midsummer's Day, 1982, three-year-old Azalea Ives is found alone at a seaside fairground.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   One year later, her mother's body washes up on a beach—her link to Azalea unnoticed.                                                                                                                                               On Midsummer's Day, 1992, her adoptive parents are killed in a Ugandan rebel uprising; Azalea is narrowly rescued by a figure from her past.                                                                                                                                                                                                     Terrified that she, too, will meet her fate on Midsummer's Day, Azalea approaches Thomas Post, an expert in debunking coincidences.  Azalea's past, he insists, is random—but as Midsummer's Day approaches, he worries that she may bring fate upon herself.

Intriguing, no?  I thought so.  The book's unique premise made me snatch it up right away.  Although I think I was expecting more of a thriller than a literary novel, I still found Coincidence both interesting and satisfying.  With most of the action taking place during the scenes set in Africa, the story does gets slow at times, especially when narrated by Thomas.  Still, his ruminations on coincidence are fascinating.  While the novel's probably worth reading just for Ironmonger's vivid portrayal of the rugged beauty and senseless brutality that defines Uganda, it's also different, absorbing and, overall, enjoyable.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, and sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Coincidence from the generous folks at Harper Collins.  Thank you!

0 bookworm(s) said...:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive