Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


7 / 30 books. 23% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (2)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia (1)
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (4)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


10 / 51 states. 20% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


8 / 50 books. 16% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


14 / 50 books. 28% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


26 / 50 books. 52% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 52 books. 44% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 40 books. 48% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


3 / 25 books. 12% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 100 books. 12% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


28 / 104 books. 27% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


27 / 52 books. 52% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


27 / 165 books. 16% done!
Monday, February 03, 2014

A Rose Is A Rose, Unless It's a Blossoming Violet

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Violet Diamond is used to standing out.  That's what happens when you're the only brown-skinned, nappy-haired girl in your town, in your school, even in your family.  It doesn't bother the 11-year-old all that much.  Except when it does.  If only her African-American dad was still alive, then she wouldn't look so out of place.  Violet knows her mother and half-sister—both pale blondes—couldn't care less about the color of her skin, it's just that sometimes, she really wishes people could look at the three of them and see a matched set.

When Violet gets a chance to connect with her father's family, her world opens up like it never has before.  She doesn't completely match the Diamonds either, nor does she feel perfectly comfortable with them, but the better she gets to know them, the more whole she feels.  As she explores the black side of her bi-racial makeup, she asks herself some tough questions:  Is she black or is she white?  With which side of the family does she identify most?  To which does she really belong?  And, most important of all, does a family have to match in order to count?  In order to love?

I'm always thrilled when I find books for young readers that feature girls of color, especially those who are bi-racial like my adopted daughter.  She's only five, but you should have seen her face light up when she spied the cover of The Blossoming Universe of Violet Diamond by Brenda Woods—"That girl looks just like me, Mom!" she exclaimed.  Although my little girl is too young to read it now, I have no doubt that the themes of the book will resonate with her as she grows older.  The story brings up issues that are especially relevant to bi-racial children, but really, Violet's out-of-place feelings will be familiar to all readers since we've all felt that way at one time or another.  I definitely empathized with our heroine and felt that she was working through issues that need to be addressed more in children's literature.  That being said, I thought the plot got a little wobbly in places.  Also, I would have liked more subtlety, as the story sometimes seemed heavy-handed and preachy.  All in all, though, I enjoyed it.

(Readalikes:  Black Boy, White School by Brian F. Walker; Sell-Out by Ebony Joy Wilkins; When the Black Girl Sings by Bil Wright)

Grade:

If this were a movie, it would be rated:

for intense situations

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Blossoming Universe of Violet Diamond from the generous folks at Penguin.  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. It seems like these kind walk a fine line between good and being too preachy. I'm glad to hear this one was mostly just good.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive