Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)

My Progress:


13 / 51 states. 25% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


15 / 50 books. 30% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


17 / 52 books. 33% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 52 books. 37% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


8 / 40 books. 20% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


12 / 25 books. 48% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


21 / 109 books. 19% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Monday, January 06, 2014

Rousing Wild West Adventure Teaches And Entertains

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When cholera claims both his parents' lives, 12-year-old Caleb O'Toole knows the safety of his two sisters is now up to him.  Somehow, he's got to get what's left of his family to his aunt's ranch in Montana's Bitterroot Mountains.  It's an impossible distance—over 1300 miles away—and yet the ranch is the only home the O'Toole children have left.  They can't stay in Great Bend, Kansas, anyway, not since Caleb became a witness to a vicious murder committed by the Blackstone Gang.  With the outlaws hot on his trail, Caleb has no choice but to leave town.  Now.  

With so many dangers along the trail—wild animals, savage Indians, the blistering hot sun, tornadoes, etc.—the children have little chance of actually reaching their destination.  But, as their journey puts them in the path of both friend and foe, they'll learn a great deal about family, fortitude and friendship.  As they encounter peril after peril, one question remains (okay, two):  Will the O'Tooles reach safety in Montana?  Can they survive the brutalities of both the Oregon Trail and the Blackstone Gang?  Only time will tell ...

Bursting with action, The Last Ride of Caleb O'Toole by Eric Pierpoint tells a fast-paced Wild West tale guaranteed to enthrall readers of all ages.  It's a rousing historical adventure that teaches while it entertains.  The characters could have been better developed, but overall, I enjoyed this one.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language, violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of The Last Ride of Caleb O'Toole from the generous folks at Sourcebooks/Jabberwocky.  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. This book sounds like a pretty exciting adventure.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive