Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


10 / 30 books. 33% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 50 books. 84% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


33.2 / 26.2 miles. 127% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 100 books. 21% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


56 / 104 books. 54% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


57 / 165 books. 35% done!
Friday, January 03, 2014

Lost in London: Charming Premise, So-So Execution

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Jordan Jacoby, a 13-year-old girl from Wilmington, Delaware, has led an utterly un-extraordinary life.  Her parents don't let her do anything (no R-rated movies, no boy/girl activities, no riding her bike without a helmet, etc.); thus, she has done nothing, nothing at all.  So, when she hears about a school-sponsored student exchange program, offering a week of exploration and learning in London, she knows it's just the thing she needs to add a little (okay, a lot) of excitement to her life.  Jordan's parents aren't nearly as enthusiastic about the idea of letting their only child loose in a foreign city, but when a family friend offers to house and chaperone Jordan in England, they relent.  

Jordan could not be more thrilled with her hop across the pond.  She can't wait to soak up England's history and culture.  There's only one problem:  her hosts.  Mrs. Littleton's got better things to do than showing Jordan the sites and her stepdaughter, Caroline, is even less interested.  All she wants to do is shop and hang out with her friends.  Jordan doesn't mind kicking it with cool British kids—until things get a little crazy.  Suddenly, she's getting more excitement than she ever wanted.  Can Jordan get herself out of her English (mis)adventure without getting herself killed, landing herself in jail or failing her big school assignment?  That's starting to look very unlikely.  Very unlikely indeed.

As you can tell from its cover, Lost in London by Cindy Callaghan, is a fast, fun, adventure-filled read.  Although there's not a lot of depth to her character, it's easy to like Jordan.  I empathized with her feelings of discomfort among Caroline's wealthy, sophisticated friends, while smiling at all her zany escapades.  This easy, breezy tale lost serious charm points with me, though, because of several things:  passive prose, underdeveloped characters and totally far-fetched plot twists.  A sharper, more realistic framework would have made Lost in London a whole lot more satisfying.  As is, it just felt forgettable and, overall, kind of meh.     

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Lost in London from the generous folks at BookSparks PR.  Thank you!
   

1 comment:

  1. This does sound a bit silly but I could see this being a light read on some weekend afternoon.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive