Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


12 / 26.2 miles. 46% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


64 / 104 books. 62% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


43 / 52 books. 83% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


69 / 165 books. 42% done!
Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Two Sisters, Two Choices, Zero Hope of Survival

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Sofia "Fia" Rosen knew she was different, even from the beginning.  Her super reflexes—always perfectly honed—just weren't natural.  In her 17 years on God's green Earth, she's never met another person with the same infallible instincts.  Perhaps, she is the only one.  They certainly believe so.  They see her vast potential as a spy, a weapon, an assassin.  They will not let her go.  They know Fia won't resist them, not when they hold that which is most precious to her hostage.    
Annie Rosen's not as "gifted" as Fia and thus not as useful to her captors.  Still, her abilities as a Seer come in handy—for them and for her.  Mostly, Annie's visions leave her trembling and terrified; in them, Fia's always in danger.  Annie may be blind, but she can see what's happening to her little sister.  And she doesn't like it, not one bit.  But, as much as she's encouraged it, Annie knows Fia will never try to escape Them, not as long as They have Annie.  

Caught between two impossible choices, Fia must decide how far she's willing to go to keep her sister safe.  How much can she risk before she no longer recognizes the girl in the mirror?  Can she sacrifice Annie to save herself from becoming a monstrous killing machine?  Is there no escape for the two girls?  Fia's instincts are flawless, but even she can't see a way out of this one ...

Mind Games, the newest paranormal offering from Kiersten White (available February 19, 2013), takes a darker turn than the author's Paranormalcy trilogy.  In her latest, White uses stark, staccato prose, to create a tense, action-packed story that grabs the reader's attention from paragraph one and just doesn't let go.  It's exciting, for sure, but also confusing as it vacillates between past and present.  In the end, I enjoyed this fast-paced read, without totally loving it.  With a little more background, a little more build-up, I probably would have liked it more.  Still, you better believe I'll be reading the sequel, if only to find out what the fierce, unpredictable Fia does next. 

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other books about teenagers in possession of deadly powers, I just can't think of any specific titles.  Ideas?)

Grade:  B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG-13 for mild language (no F-bombs), violence, sexual innuendo and depictions of underage drinking/partying

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Mind Games (via Edelweiss) from the generous folks at HarperTeen.  Thank you!

2 comments:

  1. Well, despite the lack of good background I think this one sounds awesome. I'll have to try it. Sigh, watch me hate it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I actually DID get this one from Edelweiss! Wahoo! Hoping to get to it soon. I skimmed your review so I would have no expectations. :)

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive