Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Dark MG Historical Makes Me Think

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

All 10-year-old Sasha Zaichik wants is to be a hero like his father.  A loyal Communist, the older man works for State Security (the secret police), hunting down spies and traitors.  Sasha longs to prove his own worthiness to Comrade Stalin by joining the Young Soviet Pioneers.  He has only one more day to wait—then his father, a true Party hero, will tie a red scarf around his neck with all his classmates watching.  It's a big step, one that will show everyone he's ready to serve his country, just like his father.

Sasha's hopes and dreams are dashed when State Security comes for one of its own.  Sasha can't understand why the police would take his father away, he only knows they have.  With no one to care for him, Sasha will be sent to an orphanage.  Even worse, he'll be known as the child of a traitor, a status that will prevent him from being accepted into the Young Soviet Pioneers.  There's only one thing to do—Sasha must tell Comrade Stalin that he's made a horrible mistake.  Sasha's father needs to be freed from prison!

Turns out, raising your voice is not an easy thing to do in a Communist country, where the smallest dissent may be seen as outright rebellion.  Sasha's finding out the hard way that it's easier to remain silent, compliant, even if it means that others will be punished.  He wants to be an honorable Communist, but what will it cost him?  And is he willing to pay such a very high price?  

Breaking Stalin's Nose, a middle grade novel written and illustrated by Eugene Velchin, a Russian-born writer whose father survived the Great Terror, describes an era not often explored in children's literature.  In fact, I've never read a kid's book about life during Stalin's reign.  Maybe there's a reason for that—even though Breaking Stalin's Nose is ultimately hopeful, it's a dark book on a difficult subject.  Young readers will be drawn to Sasha, no doubt, as his adventures are risky, life-and-death endeavors.  Children may miss Velchin's subtle irony, but in the end, they'll get the point:  Industrial progress isn't worth the sacrifice of a person's—or a people's—integrity.  Although this one didn't blow me away, it definitely made me think.  If it does the same for younger readers, then I say it's done its job, even if it didn't win my eternal book love.       

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:  B-

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG for subject matter that might be disturbing to younger children (prison camps, executions, etc.)

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find 

7 comments:

  1. There was something about this one that kept me from loving it, but I really enjoyed (as much as one can) the setting. I know very little about Russia under Stalin (other than the well known horrifying facts).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I felt the exact same way about this one. I liked it, I just didn't LOVE it.

      Delete
  2. Wow, this is definitely an era not covered in MG. Or YA. Or pretty much any subgenre of fiction! I'll keep this one in mind for Caroline when she's older.(She was born just a few miles from the Russia/Ukraine border) :)
    Oh, I read "The Turning" today...I feel like I missed something. It was just getting started, and then it was over. I don't remember enough about the Agatha Christie book it was based on to know how similar they are.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think it's a great historical book, I just didn't love, love, love it, you know?

      I was the one who reviewed THE TURNING (http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/2012/10/turn-of-screw-retelling-for-teens.html, but it's actually based on The Turn of the Screw by Henry James. The one based on an Agatha Christie novel is TEN by Gretchen McNeil (http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/2012/11/and-then-there-were-none-kinda.html) Confusing, I know!

      Delete
  3. Oh disregard previous comment re: "The Turning." I thought you were the one who told me about it, but I don't see a review on here so I guess not!! :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds like a good read about a unique topic. I'll be on the lookout for a copy!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is a good read and the topic is definitely unique. I'm not sure I've read ANY book about the Stalin era, let alone a children's book.

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin