Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


5 / 30 books. 17% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:
- Australia (1)
- England (3)
- Ireland (1)
- Scotland (1)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


8 / 51 states. 16% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


6 / 50 books. 12% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


11 / 50 books. 22% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


22 / 50 books. 44% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 52 books. 37% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


13 / 40 books. 33% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


2 / 25 books. 8% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


10 / 26.2 miles. 38% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


10 / 100 books. 10% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


23 / 104 books. 22% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 52 books. 42% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 165 books. 13% done!
Monday, July 30, 2012

Craving a Raw, Pulse-Pounding Zombie Adventure? Look No Further.

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Most people fear the end of the world.  Not Sloane Price.  She welcomes it.  Ever since her older sister took off, leaving Sloane to deal with her abusive father alone, she's been longing for the blissful nothingness of death.  So, when a zombie outbreak turns her hometown upside down, Sloane's not particularly worried about survival.  It's only by chance that a group of her classmates finds her.  And saves her.

Now, Sloane and five other teenagers are holed up inside Cortege High School.  Although they can hear the undead banging on the doors, the group feels safe enough for now.  They've got food, shelter, even water.  It won't last forever, but for now, the kids can breathe a little easier.  But as the days wear on, it becomes obvious that zombies aren't the only danger they face.  Fear, boredom, depression, turf wars, divided loyalties—every little thing becomes a life-or-death struggle for the kids barricaded inside the school.

At first, Sloane feels removed from all the drama.  What does it matter, when all she really wants to do is die?  But is that still her strongest desire?  As the situations inside and outside the school become increasingly desperate, Sloane has to decide what she really wants—to live or to die?

So, I've realized that my favorite zombie novels aren't really about the zombies at all.  The allure for me is not in the blood, it's not in the gore, it's in the human reaction to a world gone mad.  Which explains why I found This Is Not A Test by Courtney Summers such a riveting read.  Because while it is about zombies, it's also not about zombies.  It's really about people—six scared teenagers, who are trying their best to survive their fear, their grief, their hunger, their fury.  Themselves.  The book quickly becomes less horror novel, more psychological thriller, which just makes it more of an edge-of-your-seat, can't-go-to-sleep-until-you-finish-it read.  Considering the premise, it won't surprise you to learn that This Is Not A Test is an ultimately hopeful, but in the meantime very bleak and depressing kind of story.  No matter.  I loved it, still.  If you're craving a raw, pulse-pounding zombie adventure, look no further—you just found it.               

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Ashes by Ilsa J. Bick as well as other zombie novels, like Rot & Ruin by Jonathan MaberryI Am Legend by Richard MathesonThe Passage by Justin CroninThe Enemy by Charlie HigsonThe Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan; etc.  Also reminds me of Trapped by Michael Northrop, although Trapped isn't about zombies.)

Grade:  B

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  R for strong language, violence/gore, depictions of underage drinking and sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of This Is Not A Test from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.          

2 comments:

  1. Yeah, I'm not a zombie fan so I kept putting this one off but now that I've seen a few reviews raving about it I'm going to have to give it a try.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I put this book in me to read pile after seeing the trailer. I cannot wait to read this after what you've said about the characters.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Kill Her Twice by Stacey Lee

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
My Lady Jane by Brodi Ashton, Cynthia Hand, and Jodi Meadows



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive