Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


12 / 30 books. 40% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (2)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


26 / 50 books. 52% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


48 / 50 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 52 books. 79% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


27 / 40 books. 68% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


10 / 25 books. 40% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


13 / 26.2 miles. 50% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


26 / 100 books. 26% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


68 / 104 books. 65% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


44 / 52 books. 85% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


74 / 165 books. 45% done!
Monday, February 06, 2012

Magical Story Not So Magical

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When 15-year-old Lucy Wrenn falls in love for the first time, she falls hard. So hard that, when her boyfriend breaks up with her, she's not sure she can recover. Without Alex in it, her life is dull, colorless, not worth living. She can barely function without him. The only question in her mind is: How can she convince him to come back to her? The only answer seems to be: The Heartbreakers. Lucy's not too sure about joining up with Olivia, Gil and Liza, three beautiful girls who are able to draw any—and every—guy they want to them. The trio gets results, sure, but Lucy finds the threesome's power a little terrifying.

The Heartbreakers are willing to help Lucy get Alex back, but the plan will only work if Lucy can get a guy to fall in love with her and then break his heart. All within the next seven days. It sounds cruel—too cruel for a bleeding heart like Lucy—not to mention impossible. Except that with a little magic and some coaching from the Heartbreakers, it's starting to look not just doable, but also addictingly fun. As she learns to wield her new powers, Lucy will have to ask herself who she really is, what she really wants, and how many hearts she's really prepared to break in order to win back the boy she loves.

Two things drew me to The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers by Lynn Weingarten: its tantalizing cover (Ooh, pretty!) and its premise (not entirely original, but intriguing nonetheless). After reading the book, those are still my two favorite things about it. Why? Well, because, besides Tristan, I found most of the characters unlikable. I also thought the story got long, dull and depressing. It just didn't speak to me, didn't capture me and—except for a fun little tidbit at the end—didn't surprise me. Sequels will be forthcoming, no doubt, but I won't be holding my breath. Because, frankly, I won't be reading them.

(Readalikes: I should be able to think of a million titles, but nothing's coming to mind. Suggestions?)

Grade: C-

If this were a movie, it would be rated: R for strong language, sexual innuendo/content and depictions of underrage drinking

To the FTC, with love: I received an ARC of The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers from the generous folks at HarperTeen. Thank you!

0 bookworm(s) said...:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive